Tuna Melts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
For some reason, I've never had a tuna melt before and I'm 24 years old. My 4 year old son had been begging me for tuna all week so I got online and found this recipe. It was delicious! I used 2 heaping tablespoons of mayo and I love sweet onion so I was a bit generous. I added salt, pepper, and garlic powder to taste and threw it in the oven. I didn't have mozarella so I used provolone. I turned on the broiler until the cheese was melted and bubbly. I will definitely be making this again. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Easy, quick, common ingredients, kids like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I didn't have mozzarella so I used shredded cheddar cheese and it was quite good! I hesitantly added diced cucumbers and it turned out well, added a little crunch. I bet these would also be good with provolone cheese. A great easy summer dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
This works with just about any bread you have. I like to use whole wheat bread or english muffins. I suggest you don't use a whole cup of mayonnaise, a tablespoon or two with a tablespoon or two of dijon should be plenty. I use about 1/4 of an onion, add garlic powder and maybe some red pepper flake and whatever chopped veggies I have on hand. Great way to clean out your pantry/fridge before shopping day. NOTE: If you don't like soggy bread, you might want to use day old bread or toast it just a bit before adding your ingredients. I like mine a little crispier. If your family isn't a fan of onion pieces in their sandwiches, you can substitute onion powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I hate tuna with a passion, but this was actually really good! I only used about 3 tbsp of mayo and it worked out perfectly. The whole family loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I only used a half of an onion because of picky eaters but it was really good. To add a little extra nutrition I used a multigrain french bread. And I did as well as others top with sliced tomatoes and a bit of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy A

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Several other reviewers noted the extreme amount of mayo. I also thought it sounded excessive. Like another reviewer, I found 2 Tbsp. of mayo seemed to be sufficient. I used English muffins instead of French bread. I discovered after making the recipe, that I hadn't read it carefully enough--I sprinkled the mozzarella on top of the sandwich instead of mixing it in with the tuna. The next day I added about 1-1/2 c. cheese and discovered that some additional mayo was needed to bind it together. Another 2 Tbsp. seemed to do the trick. I found the mixture seemed a little flat--it needs something to spice it up, maybe some prepared mustard. I wouldn't make it again as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
LOVED this! I thought the amount of mayo was perfect with the 12 oz. tuna. My family all raved about these. I added a little bit of seasoning: about 1 tsp. garlic powder, 1/2 tsp. Mrs. Dash, and some pepper. I made these open-faced on hamburger buns and sprinked some of the cheese with a bit of parmesean on top. Yum yum yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
this is a great basic recipe. to jazz up the flavor a bit I added the spices from my favorite tuna salad recipe on this site. Barbie's tuna salad. With those spices and on sandwich bread because thats all I had. A good, fast family dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ildefonso

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Good recipe, I used 5 tablespoons of light mayo and used whole wheat bagels. I baked for ten minutes and then put a slice of swiss cheese on top and put them under the broiler for a minute and the cheese was brown and bubbly....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Tuna Melts

See how to make a lighter tuna melt with a pickled pepper kick.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

How to Make a Tuna Melt

Watch Chef John make the world’s tastiest tuna melt.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States