Tuna Melts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I didn't have mozzarella so I used shredded cheddar cheese and it was quite good! I hesitantly added diced cucumbers and it turned out well, added a little crunch. I bet these would also be good with provolone cheese. A great easy summer dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
This works with just about any bread you have. I like to use whole wheat bread or english muffins. I suggest you don't use a whole cup of mayonnaise, a tablespoon or two with a tablespoon or two of dijon should be plenty. I use about 1/4 of an onion, add garlic powder and maybe some red pepper flake and whatever chopped veggies I have on hand. Great way to clean out your pantry/fridge before shopping day. NOTE: If you don't like soggy bread, you might want to use day old bread or toast it just a bit before adding your ingredients. I like mine a little crispier. If your family isn't a fan of onion pieces in their sandwiches, you can substitute onion powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I hate tuna with a passion, but this was actually really good! I only used about 3 tbsp of mayo and it worked out perfectly. The whole family loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I only used a half of an onion because of picky eaters but it was really good. To add a little extra nutrition I used a multigrain french bread. And I did as well as others top with sliced tomatoes and a bit of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy A

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Several other reviewers noted the extreme amount of mayo. I also thought it sounded excessive. Like another reviewer, I found 2 Tbsp. of mayo seemed to be sufficient. I used English muffins instead of French bread. I discovered after making the recipe, that I hadn't read it carefully enough--I sprinkled the mozzarella on top of the sandwich instead of mixing it in with the tuna. The next day I added about 1-1/2 c. cheese and discovered that some additional mayo was needed to bind it together. Another 2 Tbsp. seemed to do the trick. I found the mixture seemed a little flat--it needs something to spice it up, maybe some prepared mustard. I wouldn't make it again as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
LOVED this! I thought the amount of mayo was perfect with the 12 oz. tuna. My family all raved about these. I added a little bit of seasoning: about 1 tsp. garlic powder, 1/2 tsp. Mrs. Dash, and some pepper. I made these open-faced on hamburger buns and sprinked some of the cheese with a bit of parmesean on top. Yum yum yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
this is a great basic recipe. to jazz up the flavor a bit I added the spices from my favorite tuna salad recipe on this site. Barbie's tuna salad. With those spices and on sandwich bread because thats all I had. A good, fast family dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ildefonso

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Good recipe, I used 5 tablespoons of light mayo and used whole wheat bagels. I baked for ten minutes and then put a slice of swiss cheese on top and put them under the broiler for a minute and the cheese was brown and bubbly....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I never have liked tuna and I LOVED this recipe. I used whole wheat double fiber sliced bread. AWESOME and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This was pretty good and different. I used just plain white bread and used my toaster oven. It cooked it just right. I also added a little garlic powder and only about 2 1/2 TBLS of Miracle Whip, not a cup of Mayo it would have been to much. I also added a little relish. Thanks for the change to the same ol thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKITLES

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Tuna Melts

See how to make a lighter tuna melt with a pickled pepper kick.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

How to Make a Tuna Melt

Watch Chef John make the world’s tastiest tuna melt.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States