Tuna Melts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by JoeTheBaker
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Great Recipe, other than 1 C is way too much mayo (the reason it lost 1 star). I reccommend gradually adding it to the tuna mixture until it is the consistency you desire. Had to use regular sliced toast because that's all I had. I also added a bit of garlic powder, dill, brown mustard, and a couple of baby spinach leaves on top under some extra cheese. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoeTheBaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Devine, Texas, USA
Photo by FalconJB
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
It was okay, only used 2 tbsp of light mayo, used cheddar and mozzarella, added garlic powder and onion powder along with pepper. Used whole wheat as well. Put it in for 10 min at 350 but then turned broiler on for 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FalconJB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Excellent with half the amount of mayo, a generous sprinkle of garlic and some salt & pepper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
For some reason, I've never had a tuna melt before and I'm 24 years old. My 4 year old son had been begging me for tuna all week so I got online and found this recipe. It was delicious! I used 2 heaping tablespoons of mayo and I love sweet onion so I was a bit generous. I added salt, pepper, and garlic powder to taste and threw it in the oven. I didn't have mozarella so I used provolone. I turned on the broiler until the cheese was melted and bubbly. I will definitely be making this again. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Easy, quick, common ingredients, kids like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I didn't have mozzarella so I used shredded cheddar cheese and it was quite good! I hesitantly added diced cucumbers and it turned out well, added a little crunch. I bet these would also be good with provolone cheese. A great easy summer dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
This works with just about any bread you have. I like to use whole wheat bread or english muffins. I suggest you don't use a whole cup of mayonnaise, a tablespoon or two with a tablespoon or two of dijon should be plenty. I use about 1/4 of an onion, add garlic powder and maybe some red pepper flake and whatever chopped veggies I have on hand. Great way to clean out your pantry/fridge before shopping day. NOTE: If you don't like soggy bread, you might want to use day old bread or toast it just a bit before adding your ingredients. I like mine a little crispier. If your family isn't a fan of onion pieces in their sandwiches, you can substitute onion powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I hate tuna with a passion, but this was actually really good! I only used about 3 tbsp of mayo and it worked out perfectly. The whole family loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I only used a half of an onion because of picky eaters but it was really good. To add a little extra nutrition I used a multigrain french bread. And I did as well as others top with sliced tomatoes and a bit of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy A

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Several other reviewers noted the extreme amount of mayo. I also thought it sounded excessive. Like another reviewer, I found 2 Tbsp. of mayo seemed to be sufficient. I used English muffins instead of French bread. I discovered after making the recipe, that I hadn't read it carefully enough--I sprinkled the mozzarella on top of the sandwich instead of mixing it in with the tuna. The next day I added about 1-1/2 c. cheese and discovered that some additional mayo was needed to bind it together. Another 2 Tbsp. seemed to do the trick. I found the mixture seemed a little flat--it needs something to spice it up, maybe some prepared mustard. I wouldn't make it again as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Tuna Melts

See how to make a lighter tuna melt with a pickled pepper kick.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

How to Make a Tuna Melt

Watch Chef John make the world’s tastiest tuna melt.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States