Tuna Melts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
We would add celery and onion to the tuna with 2 T of mayonnaise. Put a scoop onto a hamburger bun..a slice of cheese...and pop it into a wax paper bag and into the oven for about 15 minutes. It comes out toasted and sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
This is a great jumping off recipe. As is, a tad bland. I added chopped boiled egg, some honey mustard, and a sprinkle of chili pepper. I used ff mayo and they were delic! I toasted the buns before adding the tuna, then shredded the cheese over top, then put under the broiler.oh yes, I added some sweet relish .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I use miracle whip lite, about 2 heaping tablespoons...and i also add some pickle relish....it yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Gillies

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Mayo commenters, please note that the standard can of tuna is 3 oz and this recipe is calling for a can that is 12 oz. More mayo use... I always scrape a barely-there layer of mayo onto the bread when I grill a melt. It provides a beautifully glazed finish to the sandwich and its arguably better for you than butter -- but once you are grilling a sandwich that just is not an issue! That's why I liked the idea of baking it, no finish. This was pretty good so I did it again with scallions and roasted red peppers (pat them dry). Just plain YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Made exactly as is and this made a great tuna melt. I think people are having an issue with the recipe because they're assuming that the recipe calls for one small can of tuna (usually 4 or 5 oz. depending on brand) but the recipe actually calls for a 12 oz can. 1 C of mayo for a 12 oz can is pretty much dead on to bind the tuna, onion and cheese. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I mixed my tuna with MUCH less mayo, onion and finely diced celery. I then cored and sliced an apple into very thin rounds. I put the apple slice on top of the tuna on the bread, and used a slice of alpine lace swiss cheese and broiled for a few minutes after baking to get the cheese to bubble slightly .... YUMMMY !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy Edwards

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I agree with whomever said "seriously a cup of mayo". I would use maximum 3 tablespoons flat per can of tuna. I also add more veggies e.g. celery, red pepper, fresh parsley - all chopped finely. Otherwise, it's terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
There is no such thing as too much mayonaise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
These are great. I worked in a school cafeteria and we use to make these for the kids on hot dog buns, wrap them in foil and baked them until the cheese melted. we called them "Sea Dogs".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
1/3 mayo 1/3 celery and 1/3 cup pecans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janis Neill

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Tuna Melts

See how to make a lighter tuna melt with a pickled pepper kick.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

How to Make a Tuna Melt

Watch Chef John make the world’s tastiest tuna melt.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States