Tuna Melts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Serve with chicken noodle soup for a quick cold weather lunch. Use lightly toasted english muffin, add finely diced celery and top with thin tomato slice. I use a 1:1 ratio of drained water packed tuna to mayo as the celery & onion add a little moisture to the spread. Serve with celery & carrot sticks along with a dill pickle spear. Great for a quick "no brainer" lunch......and a good way to sneak some veggies in for those picky kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
So much mayo, but in all a good recipe. I would put maybe 3 tablespoons mayo add some Greek yogurt and def add the pickle relish and some garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I love tuna melts and liked the variation with mozz cheese. Did not use the full amount of mayo - thought it seemed like way too much. I use 1 heaping tablespoon per can of tuna. My kiddos don't like raw onion, so I substitue onion powder. Occasionally, I will make these extra special by using very soft cream cheese in place of the mayo - 1 oz per can or some combination of cream cheese and mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I agree with some of the comments in regard to the amount of mayonaise! A little much for the tastes in our household but other than that, great! I really liked using the sweet onion over a regular red or white. I tried the recipe a couple times and experimented with different types of bread including a whole grain/seasame bread - delicious. I also added one clove of fresh garlic to the tuna/mayo - little bit of a kick. I imagine there are lots of little ways you could personalize this but a great base and really fast!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I love the idea of using shredded cheese. My mom always used velveta cheese in cubes. She also added onions and olives and diced them small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I would use white sauce to hold it together rather than mayonnaise. Not so rich my mum made them all the time but put them on toast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
We would add celery and onion to the tuna with 2 T of mayonnaise. Put a scoop onto a hamburger bun..a slice of cheese...and pop it into a wax paper bag and into the oven for about 15 minutes. It comes out toasted and sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
This is a great jumping off recipe. As is, a tad bland. I added chopped boiled egg, some honey mustard, and a sprinkle of chili pepper. I used ff mayo and they were delic! I toasted the buns before adding the tuna, then shredded the cheese over top, then put under the broiler.oh yes, I added some sweet relish .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I use miracle whip lite, about 2 heaping tablespoons...and i also add some pickle relish....it yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Mayo commenters, please note that the standard can of tuna is 3 oz and this recipe is calling for a can that is 12 oz. More mayo use... I always scrape a barely-there layer of mayo onto the bread when I grill a melt. It provides a beautifully glazed finish to the sandwich and its arguably better for you than butter -- but once you are grilling a sandwich that just is not an issue! That's why I liked the idea of baking it, no finish. This was pretty good so I did it again with scallions and roasted red peppers (pat them dry). Just plain YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Simple Tuna Melts

See how to make a lighter tuna melt with a pickled pepper kick.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

How to Make a Tuna Melt

Watch Chef John make the world’s tastiest tuna melt.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States