Tuna Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
I have made this recipe quite a few times since discovering it in November. I am giving it 5 stars because my husband loves it and requests it at least once a month (and I have to double the quantity). Only modifications I made were as follows: Use half miracle whip and half mayo, use ceasar dressing instead (tried it with italian, ceasar has more"zing"), and finally I doubled the tuna. You can add more pasta, just depends on your taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Virginia, USA
Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
I had high hopes for this salad because of the marinating process. But in the end it wasn't too much different than any other macaroni salad. The second time I made it I used 1/2c non-fat plain yogurt and 1/2c reduced fat mayo and added 3T of a bottled Caesar dressing I had (in place of marinating in Italian oil dressing) I also added an extra can of tuna. With the modifications, this was pretty yummy. Thanks Maridele.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Good as is, also good with a few alterations for a healthier version- used one box wheat pasta, added low fat ceaser dressing, miracle whip and sour lean. No need to marinate overnight. I also use two 6 ounce cans of tuna and stir in frozen peas! I know this is practically a different recipe, but if you're like me and want to 'health up' recipes sometimes, this works beautifully! This is also really creamy :) YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom2Be!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2002
This was EXCELLENT! The pasta just BURST with flavor due to marinating it over night. I didn't have celery, but added tomatoes instead. I'll bet it'd be good with black olives too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
My husband and son loved this. I did this on the fly, without marinating and it came out great. He's a big fan of macoroni salad and he loved the lighter dressing! I added 2 cans tuna, green olives, sweet Vidalia onions (from Georgia) and Miracle Whip type salad dressing, because I didn't have any Mayo. You can play with the recipe and it still comes out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
I made this recipe with the following changes: I used 1/2 cup Miracle Whip, 1/2 Canola Mayo in place of the mayonnaise and I did not marinade overnight as I never plan ahead. I added all the ingredients from the sour cream down in a large bowl, mixed well and then added the macaroni. Over the top of the macaroni I added the Italian dressing and mixed it all together. My picky teenage daughters loved it (and they hate tuna) and my husband like the zing the Italian dressing gave it. I thought it was great as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2002
I made this for my family reunion and everyone loved it! It had a wonderful flavor from the italian dressing that was a huge hit!!! I didn't have any leftovers and several people went home with the recipe! I'll make this again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
Although it's not summer, I had to try this. It sounded so good for lunch!! It was as good as it sounded. I used low fat rasberry vinegarette as the marinade,low fat mayo, and sour cream. I also didnt have celery so added green peppers and eggs instead. YUM! The only modification I might make next time is 3/4 c. mayo and an extra can of tuna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2004
Delicious! I made it with fat-free Italian salad dressing, light, (low-fat) Miracle Whip, and low-fat sour cream. It is still scrumptious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I didn't have any Italian dressing, so used about 1/2 ranch dressing instead. I also had some extra green pepper, so chopped up about 1/3 cup of that, and also threw in a teaspoon of dried drill. Really good & easy to make, plus all the ingredients are things I usually have on hand. It's even better the 2nd day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

How to Make Macaroni Salad

This classic macaroni salad recipe is the ideal side for picnics and barbeques.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States