Tuna Italiano Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
We just finished eating this (with modifications), and everyone - kids included LOVED it. I sauteed leeks (finally chopped in the processor) and 3 cloves of garlic in a bit of olive oil, added one can of tuna (no oil), the garbanzos, olives and spices, then finally a package of Knorr cream of mushroom pasta sauce and the required two cups of water with grana padano cheese. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
My husband and I loved this quick, simple, filling, healthy, and convenient dish. For that I feel it deserves a great review! I drained the tuna in oil, added extra garlic, and would recommend cutting back on the added salt. I also added red pepper flakes and a few sprinkles of italian seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Blue Bell, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
Thank you! I will make this again. I added more garlic and used navy beans, whole wheat spaghetti and parmesan instead of the chick peas, penne and romano. It is very healthy, and calls for ingredients that are on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
This was an interesting dish. I like recipes that use garbanzo beans. I thought this was quite tasty. I didn't use the tuna packed in oil.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
Great recipe! Fast and tasty. I used chicken stock instead of water because it adds extra flavor. Also, I used Great Northern beans instead of garbanzo. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Great light dish, especially for those who like olives. I decreased the olive oil, used minced garlic, and will decrease the water next time. I agree that it could use something more; perhaps optional items might be recommended...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
It was a pretty good recipe. As MMJM says, it's a great pantry/what I have dish. I didn't have onion so i just put in dried onion flakes and didn't have olives...so i put in...1 can of diced tomatoes? it worked, and was tasty! Especially since I just happened to have those ingredients and not much else...and I'm broke until tommorrow :) I think the Romano or Parmesean would've been yummy, but since cheese makes everything generally better, I used what I had- some colby jack mix and it was yum! If I made this again, I'd let the diced tomatoes simmer down and reduce with lots of fresh basil. Then I'd add the garbanzos to let the "canned" flavor mellow out. When in doubt, add more garlic! If you're really adventurous and only have tuna, you could stray from this recipe entirely and maybe do curry, onions, bamboo shoots, and coconut milk with a touch of vinegar (if it's not tasty enough) over rice? It's how I make chicken sometimes...just a random thought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fc7
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I found this recipe when I was searching for a way to use tuna without making a casserole, tuna patties, or tuna salad. I happened to have the other ingredients and decided to give it a shot. My husband and I absolutely LOVE this recipe. It is incredibly easy to make and still delicious! We did modify it a bit to suit our tastes; we like spicy foods so we added sriracha to the simmering tuna mixture. We also used tricolor pasta to make the dish more visually appealing. This will be a regular addition to our menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fc7

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I made this tonight and think I had a little too much pasta. In any case, it was good. I used tuna in water rather than oil. I wanted color so I added a jar of pimento. I love parsley so added a bunch of dried. Here's the kicker, I didn't have parmesian or romano! So I buttered the noodles and added celery salt. I thought about pouring a little Italian dressing in there but didn't. I'll make it again though, that's for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Grilled Tuna with Fresh Horseradish

See how to make grilled tuna that just explodes with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States