Tuna Curry in a Hurry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
I made this the diet way, swapping 1 TB olive oil for the butter and using nonfat yogurt instead of sour cream. Served over basmati rice, it was a delicious (and easy) lunch for a cold, rainy, Fall day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
What a unique flavor! As written, it's somewhat bland; but I followed the suggestions below and doubled the curry powder and added a teaspoon of cumin (which proved to be just a little too much). Amazing! A dash of cayenne masks the offputting fishiness of chunk light tuna (i.e. the cheap stuff) and adds a nice bite. I'm sure it'd be even better with solid white albacore. Dicing the onions and peppers adds a nice texture. Definitely a keeper for great sandwiches during Lent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
I was delightfully surprised by how well this turned out. It's a quick, tasty, high-protein meal that I will probably make again and again. I like spicey food, so I tripled the curry powder and added some cumin and chili peppers as well. I fried some tomatoes in with the onion and garlic, and added two tablespoons of brown sugar to cut the sourness of the sour cream a little. The best part was how juicy and tasty the canned tuna turned out to be. Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANGEROUSPENGUIN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Hubby and I decided to rate this a 4 for what it is -- "tuna curry in a hurry." It's not a gourmet meal -- it's a quick, but very good, satisfying meal when you're in the mood for something a little different. I did make a few adjustments -- I doubled the amount of peppers, onions and garlic which I sauteed in 1 Tbsp. butter and 1 Tbsp. olive oil. I then used the full cup of light sour cream, 2 pkgs. of white albacore tuna, 1 1/2 Tbsp. curry, 1/4 tsp. cumin, and then a dash or two of cayenne pepper. We served the mixture over egg noodles. Really good -- and again something different than your norm. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODFAVOR8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2001
Oh my! This was delicious! My husband actually wanted me to make it again the next night! I varied the recipe a little. I used half the sour cream and stirred it till it was smooth and melty then added two and a half cups water, and half a bag of egg noodles. I stirred it all together and brought it to a boil, I let it simmer for about 8 minutes, then served. It was like home-made tuna helper. I added a little more curry and also some lemon pepper for a little zing. It was wonderful! I will definately make it again...hopefully not two nights in a row though.:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
This was excellent!!! I agree with HOLLMART in making this the diet way, swapping 1 TB olive oil for the butter, I also took DANGEROUSPENGUIN suggestion and I tripled the curry powder and added a tsp each of cumin and cayenne pepper as well. Served over basmati rice, WOW Wee!!! Supreme dish! I also tried it ITSMEJEWELS1127 way with 1/2 the sour cream and added two and a half cups water and half a bag of egg noodles and simmered it down, the best Curry Tuna Helper I ever had!!! Thank You All!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Thanks for the recipe. I did make quite a few changes to it, and will probably make a few more in order to make it again. I'll reiterate the fact that unless you are a die hard sour cream fan, which before this recipe I thought I was, cut WAY back on the sour cream. Half a cup and I still thought it was a bit sour. Didn't have bell peppers, but I had an abundance of carrots; threw those in. Added an extra can of tuna, 1 1/2 tbp curry, some shakes of chili powder, cayenne, lemon pepper. Great idea with rice; had mine w/ garlic fried rice and tossed in some corn. Good complete meal and pretty easy. I'll definitely try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
Although I was skeptical before trying this recipe out, it turned out pretty tasty. Like others have noted, the sour cream flavor is a bit much. The next time I make it I wouls 1) cut the sour cream in half, 2) increase the curry and 3) Use two cans of tuna. Serving over rice is a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
This was a nice mild curry, definitely not good for someone who prefers a little spicier curry. I added lots of extra veggies (cabbage, tomoato, eggplant, carrot, parsnip), so I needed more curry. I also used plain yogurt instead of sour cream and thought it tasted fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
This came out quite well. I don't like peppers, so I left those out of the curry. In addition, I *didn't* use 1/2 the sour cream as recommended in the reviews, but near the end of cooking the curry, I decided to make some rice, so I think some of the soupy-ness of the curry (caused by using the full 1 cup of sour cream) evaporated while I was waiting for the rice to cook, so it balanced things out. However, if I were to make it again, I *would* use 1/2 cup of sour cream. I've never really been a curry person at all, but this didn't come out too spicy and tasted great, esp. when served over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PerkyKoala

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Ongwediva, Oshana, Namibia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Tuna with Fresh Horseradish

See how to make grilled tuna that just explodes with flavor.

Tuna Pocket Dinner

This family-pleasing dinner is delicious and easy on the budget.

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States