Tuna Curry in a Hurry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
This was excellent!!! I agree with HOLLMART in making this the diet way, swapping 1 TB olive oil for the butter, I also took DANGEROUSPENGUIN suggestion and I tripled the curry powder and added a tsp each of cumin and cayenne pepper as well. Served over basmati rice, WOW Wee!!! Supreme dish! I also tried it ITSMEJEWELS1127 way with 1/2 the sour cream and added two and a half cups water and half a bag of egg noodles and simmered it down, the best Curry Tuna Helper I ever had!!! Thank You All!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I thought this was pretty good I used a little half than half a cup of sour cream and put in a table spoon of curry powder. I left out the onions and bell peppers, mostly because I didn't have any in the kitchen, but if I did, I am sure it would have been delicious. I also added a tad salt and lemon pepper. But, I really enjoy curry, and this was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
This recipe is really good. I did change it a bit by adding a yellow pepper rather then green and did not have any curry on hand so i put in paprika and cayenne. It was still delicious. Very easy too. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lil' nik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Thanks for the recipe. I did make quite a few changes to it, and will probably make a few more in order to make it again. I'll reiterate the fact that unless you are a die hard sour cream fan, which before this recipe I thought I was, cut WAY back on the sour cream. Half a cup and I still thought it was a bit sour. Didn't have bell peppers, but I had an abundance of carrots; threw those in. Added an extra can of tuna, 1 1/2 tbp curry, some shakes of chili powder, cayenne, lemon pepper. Great idea with rice; had mine w/ garlic fried rice and tossed in some corn. Good complete meal and pretty easy. I'll definitely try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
I was looking for a quick tuna recipe that I could whip together with canned tuna. I was hoping for something that didn't taste so "canned tuna". I'm glad I stumbled upon this! Tastes so gourmet! I will definitely make this again. Great stray from your daily tuna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
Although I was skeptical before trying this recipe out, it turned out pretty tasty. Like others have noted, the sour cream flavor is a bit much. The next time I make it I wouls 1) cut the sour cream in half, 2) increase the curry and 3) Use two cans of tuna. Serving over rice is a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
This is one of my go-to recipes. It is fast, cheap, and delicious. I use red instead of green pepper. I use just enough olive oil so that the onions and peppers and garlic don't stick. Finally, I sub Greek-style yogurt for the sour cream, and only put in half as much. Raisins are delicious in this, too!. I also up the amount of curry and add some cayenne to spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
This was very good with the following additions: I added one each sliced green, red, and yellow pepper, one can of diced tomatoes, and one chopped onion. I added 2 6 oz cans of tuna instead of one and I used 3 TBSP curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
Tried this last night. I used olive oil instead of butter, and ended up adding some canned tomatoes because the sour cream flavor was pretty overwhelming. It turned out alright, but this was definately far too sour creamy and not enough curry. Stil, tasted pretty good with some brown rice and a little salt. I will make this again, but I'll use plain yogurt next time and plan on adding tomatoes ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Stanwood, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
Wonderful. Cut the sour cream in half, added more curry, cumin and cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grilled Tuna with Fresh Horseradish

See how to make grilled tuna that just explodes with flavor.

Olive Oil Poached Tuna

Ahi tuna steaks are gently poached in olive oil until perfectly tender.

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States