Tuna Curry in a Hurry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
This was a good meal for a busy weeknight but not something I would serve to company. I made many substitutions based on what was in my pantry and the suggestions of other reviewers. Subbed: red onion, red bell pepper and garlic powder (doubled onion & pepper), used 2 cans of tuna, plain yogurt rather than sour cream, 1 T olive oil, and doubled the curry powder. I also added some cumin and cayenne pepper. I served it over whole wheat spaghetti. My husband liked it. I used the chunk Albacore tuna from Costco because it's the best! I will be making this again and will have it over rice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Simple, fast, and delicious. I added 2x the curry and about 1/2 tsp of cumin, but it still could've had more spice. This would also be great with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheMrs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This was everything I expected (based on the title and reviews). I added a few tomatoes and some spinach, as well as doubled the curry powder. Excellent served with rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I make this a ton when I don't have a lot in my cabinets. I usually add whatever veggies I have (often frozen spinach) too. To those of you having trouble with thickening, add some corn starch until it's thick enough for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Great recipe! My husband is not a fan of curry but he likes this recipe. I add 1 can of cream of chicken soup to make more sauce. My 3 year old likes it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
This was just okay. Even with extra spice I couldn't save it. Maybe there was too much sour cream for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
I can't think of a better way to prepare canned tuna! My family loves this. I always double it, I sometimes substitute yogurt for the sour cream, and throw in some frozen peas. Also, we like to add a bit of tomato sauce. I like hot curry powder, but the family prefers the regular (I always add more than the recipe though). Best served with Indian Style Basmati Rice from this site that is easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
After eating this recipe, I wasn't sure why it had so many high ratings...I usually like curry but this was not as good as I hoped it would be. My husband said that this was in the top two worst things I've ever made. Sorry for being so blunt! I really wanted a new way to make tuna but this was not it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sylvania, Ohio, USA
Living In: Schiller Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Wow! Thanks so much! I am trying to cut WAY down on sodium and this was SO TASTY!!! I did add more curry and some cumin as I like spice. Also, substituting nonfat plain yogurt reduces the fat and cholesterol. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Hubby and I decided to rate this a 4 for what it is -- "tuna curry in a hurry." It's not a gourmet meal -- it's a quick, but very good, satisfying meal when you're in the mood for something a little different. I did make a few adjustments -- I doubled the amount of peppers, onions and garlic which I sauteed in 1 Tbsp. butter and 1 Tbsp. olive oil. I then used the full cup of light sour cream, 2 pkgs. of white albacore tuna, 1 1/2 Tbsp. curry, 1/4 tsp. cumin, and then a dash or two of cayenne pepper. We served the mixture over egg noodles. Really good -- and again something different than your norm. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODFAVOR8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Tuna with Fresh Horseradish

See how to make grilled tuna that just explodes with flavor.

Tuna Pocket Dinner

This family-pleasing dinner is delicious and easy on the budget.

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States