Tuna Coney Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Not too bad. I left out the olives and green pepper. I used dill pickle relish and shredded cheese. Made a decent light supper with some chips and a fruit salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I used sour cream instead of mayonnaise and dill pickles instead of sweet relish. It was okay, but a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I made a few small adjustments because we're on a tight budget this week and I wanted to use what I had on hand. I used shredded sharp cheddar instead of american cheese and because I didn't have green olives on hand, I doubled the pickles. We don't care for sweet pickles, I used garlic dills instead. To fill it out a bit, I threw in some chopped celery. Good quick dinner (when combined with some seasoned steak fries dug out of the deep freeze) at the last minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
These were really good! I was looking for something different to do w/ leftover hot dog buns (besides the obvious), and stumbled upon this recipe. I did omit the hard boiled eggs, and added an extra can of tuna. I didn't measure everything exactly, just did it to taste, also adding a little salt and pepper. The flavor was great. I really enjoyed this take on a traditional tuna sandwich/melt. I will definately be making these again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
i actually had everything to make these. i was surprised at how the bun crisped up nicely. i thought these were really good but hubs said the filling was mushy. he wont eat tuna melts and this was my way of sneaking one past him- hey, at least he ate it! i was going to serve this w/ coleslaw but it was too cold so i made cabbage au gratin from this site(tastes a lot like mac and cheese) instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
I don't really understand why this doesn't have higher reviews me and my kids love it...my husband doesn't care for the eggs in it...but other than that I make this once a month. The kids love getting served their dinner in a foil wrap. They are a little messy to eat though so keep some napkins near.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Iron River, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Did not like this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
My mom always made these for us and now I make them for my kids. I make exactly as the recipe says and they are great. For parties, I cut the buns in half so they're smaller and then after I take them out of the oven, I put them in the slow cooker on warm to keep them heated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
This recipe has been in my family for several generations. Everyone loves them! Pickles aren't in my family recipe, but it sounds good. I use cheese slices and place 1/2 slice on each side of bun before I add the tuna mixture. My Mom liked to spread "Cheese Whiz" on the buns. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patrick Luce
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I went a little off recipe with this one. I don't like onions or green peppers, so I didn't add those. I like olives but didn't have any so I left those out, too. But this is a great recipe for customizing to your personal taste! I think you could make the tuna how you like it, then make the coneys. In fact, I think this is so great, I am passing this to a friend who has a Boy Scout's troop. She is always looking for recipes and I think this would be a perfect camping recipe! Great for kids! Thanks so much for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Luce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

How to Make a Tuna Melt

Watch Chef John make the world’s tastiest tuna melt.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States