Tuna Cheesies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I didn't adjust this recipe much when I scaled this recipe back to three servings. I just used one can of tuna fish and cut the celery salt back by half. Instead of american cheese, I chose to use sharp cheddar. The boys split the third one in half. When I baked these, I baked them at 350* for 12 minutes. They LOVED these "sandwiches"--both of them want this again for lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Classic recipe with a really cute name! This is perfect for a quick lunch and definitely a favorite when I was a kid! Everyone has their own "signature way" of preparing tuna salad and like many others, I did tweak this a bit for 1 can of tuna using a little more mayo, less seasoning and onion. I toasted my English muffin and didn't bother buttering it then layered the tuna salad and cheese putting the oven at 400 and waiting until the cheese was nice and bubbly! I topped it with a tomato slice and a little cracked black pepper - delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2006
A big hit with my husband but I had to crank the oven up to 350 to get the cheese melted and the sandwich heated through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLISONHALEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
My kids asked to have normal tuna fish after we made this. There were far too many clashing flavors, and it was very salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Go Fish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
This is a great twist on tuna salad. My sometimes picky toddler even enjoyed it. I did add a few more tablespoons of mayonnaise to make it creamier. This will become a regular meal in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
Great tuna melts recipe! I love the addition of veggies, it makes the dish healthy. Make sure to use low fat mayo and cheese and you've got a perfect low cal lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
This recipe was so delicious! I made them in a toaster oven because it was way too hot and humid to turn on my oven. They turned out wonderful. I put the sliced tomato on first, then the cheese and toasted them. The taste was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I loved this recipe! However I am not a fan of onion and garlic powder so omitted these two items when I created my tuna chessies. I did not have any English muffins on hand so I substituted two slices of 12 grain bread and it came out great. Next time I will try it with the English muffins. Thanks for a great recipe that I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by uhiggs

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blanco, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2005
I first had these over 30 years ago when I lived in Maryland. So easy and so good! Great with a cup of soup on a rainy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Simple, easy and delicious! My kids loved them. They will become a regular lunch item around here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tasty Tuna Burgers

See how to make truly tasty tuna burgers.

Making Spicy Tuna Rolls

Learn how to make spicy tuna sushi rolls at home.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States