Tuna Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
This is very similar to the recipe I make except I use only 2 eggs, mayo, and 4 slices wrapped Kraft American cheese torn into pieces and mixed in. I don't use onion or relish. I do use the olives though. I spread my hot dog or hamburg roll with margarine and put tuna mixture on top. I bake in a 350 oven around 20 min. My kids have grown up on these and love them. So with these changes is why I gave it 5*. Thanks Karen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
I love this! So did my family. I did a little variation - I used 2 boiled eggs instead of 3. I didn't have processed cheese, so I used 3 slices of cheddar and diced them. Cut down a little on the mayo. Added some cracked pepper into the mixture. I omitted the olives (because I'm not into them) but kept the sweet relish and onions, but cut down to half an onion, coz I thought the one I had was too big. I put the mixture on 4 hotdog buns (there is a lot of mixture, but maybe I have small hotdog buns) then I sprinkled paprika and a bit more pepper on top before wrapping in aluminium foil and into the oven. Love it!!! Going to make this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hartini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
We have made these three times now and will many times again. No kids in our house, he's grown and on his own, but we adults LOVE these! We have done them in hot dog buns and without the olives as I do not like them at all. We have tried different cheese as toppers and trust me when I say EXPERIMENT with the cheese! Thank you so much for this recipe Karen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2002
I really liked this method of fixing these sandwiches. I used my own leftover tuna salad and put it on a wheat bun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
This was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FloydSix

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Good flavor and easy to prepare. This had enough variety of flavor that a non-fish eater, as I am, had no trouble eating three of these sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Harvey, daPITA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Climax, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
This is a fabulous recipe. However, when I changed the number of servings from 4 to 8, it came up with 37 cups of olives! I think that would be a 'tad' overpowering! June
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This recipe creates mouth watering tuna bun. Chilly tuna was used as filling. On top of the original canned tuna, I added in some well browned onion and cracked black pepper. This additional ingredients will enhance savoury flavour in this bun. I baked the bun with insulated cookie sheet , therefore it create less browning at the bottom the bun. Review by www.bakingfrenzy.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Normally I don't like sweet relish but used it anyway and I'm glad I did! These were wonderful! Oh, didn't have an onion but used green onion, and only had american cheese on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Loved this!!! I made a few changes based on what I had on and and to keep it low cal. I cut the cheese in half, used light mayonnaise, and no relish. My husband loved it! They were also great to make up extra of, wrap in foil and keep in the fridge for a quick warm up meal. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Tuna with Fresh Horseradish

See how to make grilled tuna that just explodes with flavor.

Olive Oil Poached Tuna

Ahi tuna steaks are gently poached in olive oil until perfectly tender.

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States