Tuna Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
We have made these three times now and will many times again. No kids in our house, he's grown and on his own, but we adults LOVE these! We have done them in hot dog buns and without the olives as I do not like them at all. We have tried different cheese as toppers and trust me when I say EXPERIMENT with the cheese! Thank you so much for this recipe Karen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
I love this! So did my family. I did a little variation - I used 2 boiled eggs instead of 3. I didn't have processed cheese, so I used 3 slices of cheddar and diced them. Cut down a little on the mayo. Added some cracked pepper into the mixture. I omitted the olives (because I'm not into them) but kept the sweet relish and onions, but cut down to half an onion, coz I thought the one I had was too big. I put the mixture on 4 hotdog buns (there is a lot of mixture, but maybe I have small hotdog buns) then I sprinkled paprika and a bit more pepper on top before wrapping in aluminium foil and into the oven. Love it!!! Going to make this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hartini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2001
Tasty Buns!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Falmouth, Cornwall, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
This is very similar to the recipe I make except I use only 2 eggs, mayo, and 4 slices wrapped Kraft American cheese torn into pieces and mixed in. I don't use onion or relish. I do use the olives though. I spread my hot dog or hamburg roll with margarine and put tuna mixture on top. I bake in a 350 oven around 20 min. My kids have grown up on these and love them. So with these changes is why I gave it 5*. Thanks Karen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2003
This was more like egg salad than tuna, and way too cheesy. It was OK, but I probably won't make it again. It's worth a shot if you like lots of cheese. It doesn't reheat well at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2002
I really liked this method of fixing these sandwiches. I used my own leftover tuna salad and put it on a wheat bun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Good flavor and easy to prepare. This had enough variety of flavor that a non-fish eater, as I am, had no trouble eating three of these sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Harvey, daPITA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Normally I don't like sweet relish but used it anyway and I'm glad I did! These were wonderful! Oh, didn't have an onion but used green onion, and only had american cheese on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
This was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FloydSix

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Hubby and I loved this gormet tasting sandwich! My 4 year old didn't. It might have been a bit cheesy, but we love cheese. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Tuna with Fresh Horseradish

See how to make grilled tuna that just explodes with flavor.

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Olive Oil Poached Tuna

Ahi tuna steaks are gently poached in olive oil until perfectly tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States