Tuna, Avocado and Bacon Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I cannot believe this doesn't have 1.0000 ratings. I'm not a rushed cook, don't live in a dorm room,or have a small kitchen, but we loved this sandwich. Perfect as is, but I only had pepper jack and cheddar on hand. This wonderful recipe is forgiving and versatile. Hubby loved it with mac and cheese and 7 layer salad. Thank you QAEDON!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fritzi Schnitzer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Love this recipe since it doesn't have mayo. As others have said, it is a little dry, but melting the cheese on top and then adding avocado, tomato, and lettuce did the trick. I actually made it an open face sandwich and used the lettuce as the topper. Good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Great sandwich, but I made these changes: Added 3 tbsp. Miracle Whip for added moisture and "zip." Lightly buttered the hoagie rolls, added light coating of fresh parmesan cheese and placed under broiler just until cheese began to melt. Added spicy brown mustard to the tuna mix, plus a dash of celery salt and seasoning salt. We did add all the other ingredients as listed but spread a light coating of creamy horseradish sauce on the roll because the "heat" was lost in the tuna mix and this restored it at little. Recommend adding minced celery for extra crunch. This was a really good sandwich! We especially loved the crispy bacon in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I omitted the horseradish, pickle and cheese. It's a great way to work avocado into my diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNNYB75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
It wasn't as good as I thought it would be. But thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Added 2 Tbsp of salad dressing to help tuna mixture with dryness - made it more like consistency I am used to. Melted cheese on tuna before adding everything else - Delicious! Loved it. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLYALL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I did forgo the horseradish and pickle but it was easy to make and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I was in a hurry, so I just used that new "horseradish" mustard, and made it with "Nayonnaise" (soy based-no cholesterol) and 'veggie' bacon strips that I had from Morningstar Farms(again no cholesterol). Didn't have any lettuce,which would have made it better, but it was still delicious. I used whole wheat buns, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
After seeing a previous review that this was a little dry, I doubled the dijon mustard and added 2 tablespoons of mayo. I skipped the horseradish, relish, onion and paprika. A good, basic recipe with plenty of room for experimentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
My husband loved this I did melt the cheese on top. My husband said one of the best he has ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon Jack Chicken Sandwich

Quick-and-easy chicken sandwiches star Jack cheese and bacon.

French Egg and Bacon Sandwich

See how to make a bacon and egg sandwich with a French toast twist.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States