Tuna And Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I really loved this! I was looking for a lighter alternative to the usual tuna salad with mayo. I did make some changes simply because I didn't have the ingredients. Didn't have cheese and didn't have green beans but kept everything else as is except used about 1/2 the oil. Very good and I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I thought this was great! My husband also enjoyed it. I skipped the green beans, but otherwise followed the recipe. Served it over some European mix lettuce dressed with a little lemon juice and olive oil and added some hard boiled egg to the plate. Very healthy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This recipe was very good with a great garlic taste. I doubled everything and left out the cheese. It just needed a little extra lemon juice so it wan't so dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Loved it. Have made it twice - once as lunch for the week at work. I doubled the recipe and took it to the office with some pita and spinach. I steamed fresh green beans that time and overcooked them a little, but that's my bad, not the recipe's. The second time I made it as lunch for guests and they loved it too. I think I used frozen green beans that time. It doesn't hold together quite good enough to make an easy sandwich in my opinion, but my friend ate it with a fork, like a regular salad and we all enjoyed it. My BF who doesn't typically care for tuna loves this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
I also omitted the green beans, and used kidney beans instead... delicious. I find using "good" tuna makes all the difference too (I buy the Rio Mare brand packed in olive oil, it has the best flavour!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paola g

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
I loved this, I will however add an extra can of tuna to it and some more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PREDESTOGO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windber, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2007
My 1-year old is eating food with us now, but isn't a big fan of onions, so I omitted the onion and used onion powder instead. Because of that I had to add some extra seasonings, but it turned out great! I served it on a bed of lettuce with a little warm rice and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
I made this for The Woman I Love. It made 2 plates for each of us over 2 days. I made my half exactly as written (with 1 tbsp of parmesan in my half), and omitted the parmesan for her. We both loved it - so nice and fresh and healthy. As it turns out, as much as I love cheese, I didn't really notice the parmesan in my half, so some people may choose to omit it. One minor thing: I used a very large red onion for this, and I thought it was too much, so others might be advised to use a medium or small one (or a half onion like one reviewer suggested). I had mine by itself, on a plate, and served hers on a bed of hearts of romaine - a great salad either way. I'm going to make a double batch for her next weekend, and so on. Thanks for a keeper of a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
Just average. If you only used half the red onion, it would probably be a little better. Beware, too- the smell is STRONG! My husband won't eat it, and is upset because our kitchen smells now. I hope it's better after 24 hours...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
Pretty good. I omitted the green beans. It was much better the next day as the tuna was not so "strong" and the flavors were blended. I used albacore tuna and served on baby spinich as a salad. Will make again when craving a different tuna salad. May try with kidney beans next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States