T's Sweet Potato Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I am giving this 4 stars because I skipped the pre cooking step and didn't use the lemon pepper. I love sweet potato fries and I make them all the time because of this recipe. The secret is to make sure they are all cut fairly evenly and they are spaced out on the pan. If they are crowded too close together they will not cook properly. Also always make sure to turn them at least once or they will get burned on one side. Regular potatoes you don't have to be so careful but sweet potatoes you do for some reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
657 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
If you want them crispier, just skip the pre-cooking step and bake them longer (or cut them more thinly and keep the same cook time.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
372 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
my very first attempt at ANY kind of homemade french fry, and they came out perfect. I used sea salt, fresh ground pepper, and a dash of each: garlic powder, dehydrated onion, parsley flakes. Cut them into thin 2 1/2" fries & they crisped up perfectly. Awesome just with ketchup.. a new favorite food for sure!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
368 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by even_vegan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wolcott, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
Suggested recipe made the potatoes too mushy. I remade omiting the pre-cooking and they turned out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Forney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
To get the fries a bit more crispy they need to be cut rather thinly. This also helps them cook faster. To season I always add salt, pepper, and paprika, which gives it a nice contrast between the sweet and spicy. Sometime I add fresh rosemary or a tiny bit of chili powder to kick it up a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I'll give 5 stars to anything my 19 month old will eat! He loved them. So did my husband and I. I didn't do the microwave part. I cut them thinner cooked 30 mins at 400 and to crisp up a bit, I put them under the broiler for a few minutes on each side. They were delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
These were great. I only cooked in microwave for 3 min. Tossed with garlic olive oil, lemon seasoning and italian spices. Baked for 45 min. Crispiness depends on how thick you cut. The smaller cut, the crispier. I cut mine like steak fries and they turned out nice an tasty! My 2 year old loves these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Super good alternative to regular oven fries. I cut mine to about the size of two regular fries. Took about 45 minutes to really get them perfectly crispy, but they were too mushy on the inside. I'll only microwave them for 3 minutes next time and bake them for a full 45 min. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANNEND

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
These were great. Instead of the lemon pepper/Italian seasoning combo, I seasoned with chili powder. I also had problems getting them to crisp. I think I'll try less time in the micro and more time in the oven, like another reviewer. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
I would have wished they could be a bit more crisp... any tips?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monika Drozd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States