T's Sweet Potato Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
You def have to play around with ur own seasonings. I used ital pepper, lemon pepper and salt and pepper but what gave it the kick for me was the creole seasoning. Only if you really like spice (add some rosemary too). I cut mine thin and put it on 425 because i was hungry. Came out fine, a couple are burnt on the ends but i lovee burntness. These will make your house smell xtra good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KattyCaddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I experimented with just one sweet potato and it turned out exceptionally delicious!!! I'm not a huge fan of sweet potatoes, but wow, I will definitely make this again. The kids loved them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Yum, I did not have lemon pepper, so I used garlic powder. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista Donahue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Indiana, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
These were great. I followed the directions precisely and wow yummy! My kids weren't big fans but my husband and I really enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I don't really know what I did wrong here. Even after trying to broil the fries at the end, they came out limp and soft instead of crunchy like I was hoping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Rogers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
These are excellent! They remind me of roasted red potatoes with rosemary. No need to change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steveweis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wixom, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I cut these as thin as possible (think McD's fries) and they still came out soggy after 45 minutes. Not only were they soggy but they were starting to dry out. Boo! The taste was good but just not enough for me to make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I make these all the time but I use my own blend of seasonings. I add a little bit of salt, some pepper, garlic powder and a generous amount of brown sugar and they are amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Too soggy, forever to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristyl Lee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
UPDATE: MADE THESE AGAIN, BUT THIS TIME, I MICROWAVED MY (MEDIUM THICKNESS) CUT FRIES FOR 3 MINUTES, THEN PROCEEDED AS DIRECTED. THESE WERE S-O-G-G-Y!!! READ CAREFULLY - THE RECIPE CALLS FOR THICK CUT FRIES! THIS RECIPE DOES NOT WORK FOR ANYTHING OTHER THAN THICK, STEAK-CUT FRIES!!! BYPASSING THE PRE-COOK STEP AND / OR ADJUSTING THE BAKING TIME DOESN'T WORK. These were alright. I guess nothing compares to a basic french fry.... I guess I just prefer a sweeter coating on my sweet potato fries (which surprises me since it was the savory spice mixture that intrigued me to begin with!). I bet cinnamon sugar would be SUPER yummy! Personal preference aside, I pretty much followed Wannabe Gardener's directions to the letter and just wasn't a fan. Instead of using plain EVOO, I cracked open a new bottle of roasted garlic infused EVOO. I also omitted the microwaving step. I cut my fries into shoestring strips so that they would bake quickly and evenly. Since my baking sheet was a tad overcrowded (some of my fries were touching / overlapping), many of my fries ended up soggy. As a simple fix, I placed my baking sheet under the broiler (HI) for a few minutes to crisp everything up a bit. I know the oven step makes these "healthy," but if you want the texture of a true French fry, deep frying is the way to go. All in all, I'm glad to have given this a try, but am not sure how often or when I'll make these again. Thanks anyways, Wannabe Gardener! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States