T's Sweet Potato Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Too soggy, forever to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristyl Lee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
UPDATE: MADE THESE AGAIN, BUT THIS TIME, I MICROWAVED MY (MEDIUM THICKNESS) CUT FRIES FOR 3 MINUTES, THEN PROCEEDED AS DIRECTED. THESE WERE S-O-G-G-Y!!! READ CAREFULLY - THE RECIPE CALLS FOR THICK CUT FRIES! THIS RECIPE DOES NOT WORK FOR ANYTHING OTHER THAN THICK, STEAK-CUT FRIES!!! BYPASSING THE PRE-COOK STEP AND / OR ADJUSTING THE BAKING TIME DOESN'T WORK. These were alright. I guess nothing compares to a basic french fry.... I guess I just prefer a sweeter coating on my sweet potato fries (which surprises me since it was the savory spice mixture that intrigued me to begin with!). I bet cinnamon sugar would be SUPER yummy! Personal preference aside, I pretty much followed Wannabe Gardener's directions to the letter and just wasn't a fan. Instead of using plain EVOO, I cracked open a new bottle of roasted garlic infused EVOO. I also omitted the microwaving step. I cut my fries into shoestring strips so that they would bake quickly and evenly. Since my baking sheet was a tad overcrowded (some of my fries were touching / overlapping), many of my fries ended up soggy. As a simple fix, I placed my baking sheet under the broiler (HI) for a few minutes to crisp everything up a bit. I know the oven step makes these "healthy," but if you want the texture of a true French fry, deep frying is the way to go. All in all, I'm glad to have given this a try, but am not sure how often or when I'll make these again. Thanks anyways, Wannabe Gardener! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Great recipe! Giving it 4 stars because microwaving is definitely not necessary if you make them thin fries. I peeled the sweet potatoes, cut them into almost shoe string fries, tossed in extra virgin olive oil and sprinkled with salt. Perfect flavor. I made one cookie sheet with salt and another sprinkled with cinnamon & salt - requested by my teenage son. Baked for 35 minutes. Definitely love the cinnamon & salt better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRETTYPOLLY4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
No leftovers. I put the cut up sweet potatoes in a large zip lock bag, sprinkled with olive oil, paprika, garlic powder, onion powder, kosher salt and pepper. Let set in bag 30 minutes, turning bag, then baked for 40 minutes, turning after 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
I love this recipe. I have made it more times than I can count and always get rave reviews for it! Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
These are really good with horseradish dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetMoni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Like so many others, I skipped the microwave step. They still turned out a bit mushy. Next time I might broil at the last minute. The over all taste was really good. My son and I enjoyed them with a bit of sour cream today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
So good! I took the advice of other reviews and skipped the microwave. I used a French fry cutter so my fries were very uniform and cooked easily. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vernal, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
The flavor was good, the texture was terrible. They were super smooshy. I won't make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I found them to be too moist so I broiled them for a few minutes after cooking. It crisped them up nicely! Great recipe! A regular go-to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States