Try It You'll Like It Kraut Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
I made a recipe very similar to this over the weekend to cheer on the Philadelphia Eagles' victory! I used bonesless pork chops, 2 cups sauerkraut, 1/4 cup brown sugar, one envelope onion soup mix, 1 tsp. caraway seeds, and 1/2 cup water. Cooked it for 8 hours in a crockpot - - very very good. Next time I will add wine or beer to the crockpot for a bit more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Hubby was in the mood for ribs, while I was in the mood for sauerkraut: this was the recipe we needed! Used beer instead of white wine and caraway powder, instead of seeds (I hate caraway seeds!). Taste was yummy and meat fell off the bone. Next time I would cut the carrots smaller, because the "large chunks" were too large for my tastes. Otherwise: recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I used all wine for my liquid in the recipe and cooked in the oven, as directed. The meat fell off the bone! It has a very mild flavor and is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rocky Hill Gal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
The pork was tender and delicious however I felt it was too sweet and I really didn't care for the taste of carway with the Kraut. I'm going to stick with the tried, true and simple next time - just kraut and pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krispy6372

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Worthington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Very good recipe I do not understand what another poster meant by "too sweet" ..there was only 1 Tablespoon brown sugar added and an apple I browned my ribs in 1/2 butter and 1/2 oil also used 4 potatoes and ditched the carrots.. potatoes are made to go wuth kraut giving it a special flavor and texture as it slow cooks next time may add 1 or 2 cloves minced garlic Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Supper? SUPER! Only thing I'd change is to use even MORE kraut. Long cook time seems to reduce to "not enough".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Fantastic! Used about a half cup wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
We really enjoyed this recipe. I had forgotten to get carrots and had none in the fridge, so I used onion and celery which I diced and sauteed a bit. Also, following another reviewer's recommendation, I added potatoes to the casserole. The potatoes were just cut into large cubes and layered on the bottom of the dish before everything else was thrown in. Considering how easy this is and the fact that the ingredients are quite often on sale, I know that this will be a do-over again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Very good. My husband loves sauerkraut and I'm just sort of so-so about it. The combination of ingredients tames the sauerkraut flavor and makes it "just right". The only thing I changed was cutting the carrots smaller. I think this would work with other cuts of pork (the bonier ones). This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norma Kuisle
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I will be making this as our "goto" kraut and pork recipe from now on. Pork was very tender and the counterbalance of the minor sweet ingredients tempered the sourness of the kraut perfectly. My only changes were not draining the kraut so I could retain the liquid in the roaster, layering half the kraut in the bottom of the roaster before placing the browned pork on it, and I removed the browned pork out of the skillet then deglazed the pan using the white cooking wine before adding the other ingredients and rest of kraut to the skillet. I poured everything on top of the browned pork ribs in the roaster then covered to cook for about 2.5 hours. We served this over hash browns (not crispy bec/I was out of potatoes to mash) and my boys each had two helpings. Definitely a keeper! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States