Truly Key Lime Pie Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Great ice cream! I as well used more cream and less milk per other cooks suggestions to see if it would set sooner, but still took a long time. I used Key Lime Juice instead of lime juice, just used less due to stronger flavor. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
The taste on this recipe is superb; just be sure to use bottled key lime juice--it tastes just a bit different from "regular" lime juice. I failed miserably at getting this to thicken in the ice cream freezer--maybe it was too hot? And my Cuisinart machine proved unequal to the task of breaking up the graham crackers, so I partially froze the ice cream and smashed the crackers with the side of a metal spoon. It came out a little bit grainy, but as I said, the flavor was great: just like eating a frozen key lime pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
This ice cream is amazing. Everyone who tried it just loved it. The first time I made it, it had a bit of a gritty consistency, but still tasted great. The second time I tried it, I turned off the burner before adding the eggs. The mixture was still hot, so I tempered the eggs and then added the jello. This seemed to work better for me and the final product had a very rich and creamy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
This was great. I made it as the recipe stated, only I used a broken up graham cracker crust because I was feeling lazy. My kids have asked me to make it again- we really liked it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
all i can say is AMAZING! this tasted exactly like keylime pie. followed the directions exactly except i let the mixture cool in the fridge for a few hours before putting it in my ice cream maker.i used bottled lime juice and it still tasted great. this was so creamy and refreshing on a hot summer day. i made a grahm cracker crust and broke it into pieces to serve with the ice cream. will be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This is an AWESOME recipe! We made it on the Fourth for a group and it was "knock your socks off" great! Everyone loved it. I made it exactly as given in the recipe, had no problems whatsoever...and it was my first batch of home-made ice cream ever! I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOONFROG8
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
I made this ice-cream for Fathers day and it was a big hit. My nephews couldn't get enough. I followed the recipe for the ice-cream, but instead of using graham crackers, I made a graham cracker crust and baked it on a cookie sheet while ice-cream was churning in the machine. The last 5 minutes in the maker, I broke up the crust and mixed it in. It was awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONFROG8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Originally I gave this recipe 3 stars because the texture was off - seemed kind of like an ice cream mouse. I've decided to bump it up to 4 stars because the texture got a lot better after it sat in the freezer another day. The flavor is really great, and the graham crackers really added so much yummy-ness that I wasn't expecting. The recipe doesn't specify fresh or bottled lime juice. I just took the easy route and used bottled, and I think it was fine. And yes, as other reviews have suggested, make sure to cool the mixture completely before putting it into the ice cream maker. I refrigerated it overnight. Overall very good - I'm sure I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I wish the original instructions told to refrigerate the mixed ingredients for 24 hrs prior to placing in ice cream maker ! Mine turned out to be a major FLOP because of that. It NEVER properly solidified as churning and wound up a heavy solid ugly srapable hunk of green stuff. Not very appetizing and embarrassing to serve to my guests, who proclaimed it was WEIRD. I like my foods as natural as possible. That's why I have an ice cream maker in the first place. I'm trying to avoid poisoning my family as much as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Fantastic!! It's almost like a sherbert/ice cream combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAGUNCORP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States