Truly Key Lime Pie Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
Good recipe! I would just suggest adding lime zest into this mixture just to add a punch of real lime flavor. We also added a bit more graham crackers in for the crunch + contrast of taste and texture. Will definitely make this again! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
This is a terrific recipe. I used the amount of graham crackers called for and it came out wonderful. I think using more would have detracted from the flavor of the key lime. My family also raved about this ice cream so I made another batch but doubled it, which kept very well in the freezer. Thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
this is so easy to fix and so good everyone will love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
this recipe is excellent! I couldn't believe how good it was. the first bite when it's almost frozen is to die for! thank you so much for putting this recipe up here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
Very good recipe. The taste and texture is superb. I altered the recipe by tempering the egg yolks before adding them, and I used mini teddy-graham crackers instead of regular graham crackers. I'll definately use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
I had to cut this recipe in half because my Krups Ice Cream maker only accomodates 1.5 quarts of ice cream. I agree, it did take longer to set up so I plan on reducing the plain milk again by 1/4 cup after I reduce the recipe. The basic recipe is great and you can change by using orange jello and extract or cherry jello and extract. This was very creamy and I know it will be made over and over this summer. Thank you for an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Somerville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Stockton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
This is fabulous. I was worried it would taste like sherbet - yuck. But it has a rich creamy taste. Instead of the milk and heavy cream I used half and half. I had a little trouble with the graham crackers. When I put them in whole they made the churn bind up and the crackers didn't break up. The next time I made it I put in graham cracker crumbs. That worked better but the taste of the crackers was rather diluted. Next time - and there will definitely be a next time - I will add broken up crackers near the end of the churn process. Very refreshing for a hot summer day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
BRAVO! This recipe was outstanding. I made it for a large gathering and everyone said it was the best. Very refreshing. Note-it DOES take a long time to set up in a commercial ice cream freezer. This was even after I chilled the custard before putting in freezer. And do plan on breaking up the graham crackers before adding them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
This was WONDERFUL! I made it and took it to our ice cream social at church. It was gone before any other ice cream and I had about 12 people request the recipe! I used Graham Cracker crumbs instead of the crackers and it did fine as well. We also sprinkled the crumbs on top...it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
One word - FABULOUS! Delicious recipe! I even added real Key lime juice in place of the regular lime juice. Had to use less as it is stronger though. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetslady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States