Truly Key Lime Pie Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
Truly Amazing!!! This is not 5 star, it's 6! Rich, creamy and oh so delicious. Made it exactly as posted though I used additional heavy cream instead of milk. Really, just like a delicious key lime pie,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
I just finished making this recipe and it is yummy! The only thing I changed was that I used a graham cracker pie crust instead of regular graham crackers-mmm,mmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
This was pretty good, a little tart, but good. I didn't add the eggs to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
Absolutly great recipe!!! This was my first attempt at making ice cream and it turned out great!! Will be making it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
Another one to throw in the recipe box. Very good. I upped the heavy cream to 1 c., and cut the whole milk by 1/3 c. to get a creamier texture. I used real key lime juice. It's stronger, so I only used 3/4 cup. The ice cream ended up a little "chalky", which I think might be due to the way the Jell-O interacts with the other ingredients, but it was still delicious and creamy. I also tempered the egg yolks with some of the warm cream mixture, then stirred them back into the ice cream base, just to make sure there were no scrambled egg bits. You should also let the mixture chill before churning - makes churn time go faster. It's true - this does taste EXACTLY like Key Lime Pie. Try to keep the graham cracker pieces big, and mix them at the very end of churn time, so they don't break up too much and dissolve into the ice cream. Froze it overnight, and the whole family gave it a thumbs up. I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
Kinda pricey to make, but absolutely delicious. Worth it when you want to splurge and have something "sinfully delicious".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LotsaKidz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
This is the best recipe ever! It is really easy and tastes just like key lime pie. A must have for any key lime pie lover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
One word - FABULOUS! Delicious recipe! I even added real Key lime juice in place of the regular lime juice. Had to use less as it is stronger though. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetslady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
This was WONDERFUL! I made it and took it to our ice cream social at church. It was gone before any other ice cream and I had about 12 people request the recipe! I used Graham Cracker crumbs instead of the crackers and it did fine as well. We also sprinkled the crumbs on top...it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
BRAVO! This recipe was outstanding. I made it for a large gathering and everyone said it was the best. Very refreshing. Note-it DOES take a long time to set up in a commercial ice cream freezer. This was even after I chilled the custard before putting in freezer. And do plan on breaking up the graham crackers before adding them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States