Truly Key Lime Pie Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Love this recipe! We just pulled it off the maker and put it in the freezer to harden. The flavor is perfect. Lime is delicious without being too strong, as lime sherbet sometimes is. We made it for an ice cream social this afternoon. Can't wait to see what our friends think of it. UPDATE: This ice cream won 1st in our ice cream social contest yesterday!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
Creamy and delicious! Tastes just like key lime pie. We cut the recipe in half for our ice cream maker and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Clovis, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
I made this recipe for our annual Ice Cream Extreme night and it took first place in the people's choice! I did use Nellie and Joe's Real Key Lime Juice and left out the Lemon Extract. This is my new favorite ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobsKitchen

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Albany, Georgia, USA
Living In: Sylvester, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
This was pretty good, considering I made it with fat free half and half and skim milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
Oh my!!!!! Completely delicious! I made this recipe three times this summer for different events. People could not believe how awesome it was. It is now my Mom's all-time favorite ice cream. I have never had ice cream this creamy. Definitely let this ice cream cool to room temperature after you cook it, then refrigerate it over night. I fully believe this makes the texture incredible. I will make this recipe a few times every summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C.C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
My husband & I agree this is the best ice cream we've made w/ the freezer we got for our anniversary. I added a bit of lime zest as well as the lemon extract. Tart & yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
Just like frozen key lime pie!! I used key lime juice and omitted the grahm crackers, just sprinkled them over the top. Next time I will try chunks of precooked grahm cracker crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2008
Guess I'm the party pooper :(. This was just OK. I couldn't get past the taste (or color) of the lime jello; it didn't taste natural. The texture was marshmallow-like, and it took me, as recipe indicates, probably double the time to churn as regular ice cream. But here is my *PROCESSING TIP (I have a 1.5 qt. Cuisinart): Churn the mixture until it seems to be freezing and whipping no further. If it does not seem light enough, remove the bowl and place it, with the mixture and paddle inside, in the freezer for 30-45 minutes. Then remove from freezer and manually turn the paddle until it is loosened and able to churn again. Place back on machine and churn again. Repeat if necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Awesome Ice cream recipe! I didn't experience any chalky texture as some reviewers have claimed. I tempered the eggs, pretty much constantly stirred mixture while over heat, and let it cool completely before placing in my Cuisinart Ice Cream Maker. I had to mix in two batches as it's only a 1 quart machine. I whisked the cooled mixture before pouring into the machine. I didn't put the graham cracker in the ice cream but instead served the ice cream in tart sized graham cracker crusts, topped with homemade whip cream and a lime slice. Turned out supper cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Perfect ice cream for citrus fruit fans! I love the sweet tang, and it is so creamy! I didn't add the graham crackers, since we were serving it in homemade waffle cones. After making this several times I believe it is essential to refrigerate 24 hours before putting in the ice cream maker, otherwise it's not nearly as smooth and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States