Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I upped both the butter and olive oil to tablespoons. I did saute these a little longer than the recipe asked for, only because mine were not quite ready after 45 seconds. Though my family was lukewarm about this, I loved it. What my family didn't want, I happily ate for them. VERY good. Next time, I think I might throw in some chopped shallots. I think that would make this dish even tastier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
First, I'll confess that I actually like Brussels sprouts! I started slicing them long ago to trick my husband into eating them! For the longest time he thought it was cabbage, lol! Anyway, this recipe is really outstanding, and the lemon juice brightens it up nicely. I almost follow it exactly except I add teaspoon of lemon zest and cut back on the lemon juice. I also sprinkle red pepper flakes onto the finished dish. I cook mine longer than 45 seconds, probably closer to 2 minutes, and they still have the nice bright color and texture. I served this with grilled chicken wings and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
These Brussels sprouts are indeed “truly delicious”. For years I have used the Julia Child method of lightly steaming the sprouts and then thinly slicing and sautéing them in butter. I now know that the steaming was an unnecessary step. Mine took longer than 45 seconds to soften but were still speedy and effortless to prepare. Most people who profess to dislike this healthy vegetable have usually only had the overcooked variety. This recipe will surely bring them around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Yummy sprouts! Thanks, Chef John! So light and uplifting! Works well with cabbage too! I've been eating this regularly with either sprouts or cabbage. So much so that I've begun trying some variations these days. I still love the lemon especially well, but sometimes I also like leaving out the lemon and subbing in one of the following: (1) cider vinegar & brown or raw sugar with mustard seeds &/or red pepper flakes or sometimes I use stevia), (2) -or- balsamic vinegar & almond slices (also with red pepper flakes and/or raw sugar), or (3) lime juice with garlic powder and chipotle (or cayenne powder - no sugar here, though). Should also be good with (4) curry spices or (5) white wine vinegar and cajun spices - or (6) OJ and 5 spice OR jamaican jerk OR add in some fennel.....perhaps anise & coriander & garlic..... (7) five spice powder and a touch of soy sauce, though I haven't tried those options yet..... Bunches of yum!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This was fantastic! What a great change from the whole spouts and its amazing the flavor with just a couple of simple ingretients. Almost converted my son and he HATES brussels sprouts. For my husband and I though this is a winner and I will be making this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josephine Wood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Uncasville, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lemoore, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I am looking forward to making these again for our Thanksgiving dinner. I bumped up the flavor last time by adding some bacon bits and some sliced almonds in as well near the end ( even a handful of dried cranberries for color). I agree they do take approx 2 minutes, not 45 seconds to heat and cook through. Hubby hated Brussels sprouts before, now he asks for them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Oh, my goodness... this was amazing. Beats steamed or microwaved sprouts all hollow! They needed about 4 minutes before they started to brown, but I was starting with frozen sprouts which I'd had to thaw briefly in hot water in order to slice them. So, yes, it works with frozen sprouts too. Just be careful when adding half-frozen sprouts to the hot butter-oil mixture, because the veggies are wet and will spatter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
45 seconds is NOT enough time for these to soften. I cooked them a full 2 minutes and they were still pretty tough. They had a great flavor and the butter and lemon juice, but they were just not cooked enough according to the recipe time...and since when does 1-2 minutes + 45 seconds= 5 minutes?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Went to find out how long to steam brussel sprouts and found this recipe. Followed it to a tea! Never enjoyed brussel sprouts so much! Thought I was eating dessert! Absoulutely delicious and so easy! Thank you again Chef John. Have been making the "Just chicken and Mushroom" recipe for months! We have it at least 4 times a month! You are the man!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I am not a brussel sprout eater and neither were my kids BUT I made this tonight for dinner and we all loved it. I followed the recipe as directed. Kids said it "didn't taste like sprouts" so....I will definitely be making this dish again. Thank you, Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States