Truly Coconutty Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
My family LOVED this recipe, especially my husband. This will definitely be going in the family collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Overall this was a great pie. I made mine in a tart pan instead of a pie pan and only put the crust on the bottom. The crust is delicious! I used half coconut milk and half coconut cream for the mixture and still added some Lorann's Gourmet Coconut flavoring oil to it. I didn't have flaked coconut, which I will make sure I add next time I make this. I think it is needed mostly for texture than anything else. I ate a maraschino cherry with each piece. Delightfully coconutty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by lb22
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
very good pie, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I made this pie this week to go with my husband's gumbo dinner. It is a very expensive pie to make. But everyone that ate it gave it rave reviews. It is definitely one to make for special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I cheated and used a pre-made crust. I also did not use any flaked coconut. Instead, I bought a coconut, opend it up and scrapped out the insides and toasted it. I added this to the filling. This recipe is wonderful!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I made this pie for a potluck dinner. Even though I did not make the crust (used a pre-made frozen one), the result was a fluffy, coconutty, decadent pie. Loved it! Using a frozen crust made the whole process and clean up a lot easier and faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LFerreira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
By far the best coconut cream pie I have made Not wanting to heat the oven I used a purchased graham cracker crust . For the filling: My can of coconut milk was only 15 oz, so I made up the difference by adding three additional oz of milk to the required amount. I added a good cup and a half of toasted coconut (waste not want not) and only about 5 oz of sugar due to coconut being so high in sugar. I only had two whole eggs, and that was perfectly fine. I forgot to stir in the butter and omitted the vanilla, I have no vanilla beans and was going to use extract but after tasting the pudding I decided it wasn't called for. I added a few drops of yellow food coloring, as the coconut milk was an ugly grey color. . By the way that super cheap packaged flaked coconut toasts up quite nicely in a toaster oven, but really quickly, so take extra care.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Now that's Coconut Pie! Thanks a million.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bussum, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I made this for my husband's birthday (his favorite flavor of pie). We both loved it, although it was very rich. At least the richness made it last for more than a day. lol This was my first experience with scraping a vanilla bean and it took me a good while to split it initially. The editor's note about saving the dried vanilla bean in sugar is great. Just that touch of vanilla in coffee with cream is heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Philipsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I had never used vanilla beans before, but it was soooo worth it! This recipe is awesome! I've made it at least three times in the past month, because everybody just keeps wanting more. :) I have to admit though, I did use pre-made crusts to save time, but I let the rum soak into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bluej51

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States