True Wisconsin Bloody Mary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
It's "okay" I guess. I live in Milwaukee and to anyone who lives here- you can't visit the city without going to Cafe Benelux in the third ward area and try their "Stinkin Rose" bloody Mary. Mix is made from scratch. Uses fermented vodka, garnished with beef stick (made in Wisconsin of course), shrimp, pickled green beans, cheese, olives. I do however like how simple this recipe is if you don't have a lot of time to make your mix from fresh tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Grove, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Alright, it's sort of authentic. I bartend in Green Bay and I make mine a little differently. I build mine in this order: Ice, 5 shakes celery salt, Squeeze of juice from one lemon wedge, 5 shakes Worcestershire, 2 drops steak sauce, 3 drops Tabasco, 2 shakes Old Bay Seasoning, *Vodka, Tomato juice (stir after adding or Worcestershire will pool at bottom), 2 fresh olives, 2 shrimp, 1 beef stick, 1 stick Colby-Jack Cheese, 1 pickle, and 1 fresh lemon wedge - That's an authentic Wisconsin brunch Bloody!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Yum Yumm!! Me likey!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Best bloody I've found so far! Probably the MSG (nom nom nom). But still, it's hard not to fiddle with. I like to use Sriracha for the hot sauce, add some garlic powder or pressed garlic, cocktail onions and/or brine, garlic-stuffed olives, and the occasional cilantro shredlets. If you like this, you should really try a Michelada - Allrecipes has a version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
As a Wisconsin bartender, I can attest that this recipe is quite authentic. In Madison, we often substitute a pickle for the celery garnish, and pickle brine in addition to the olive brine. Beer (especially a good stout) is a good addition, but I think beer is best served separately with the bloody as a chaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
ADD HORSERADISH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Lynn
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
It's basically a bloody Ceasar with olives...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
As some reviewers have said, this is not really a bloody mary - it's what we call a caesar in Canada. Essentially a bloody mary with clamato juice instead of tomato juice. I guess Wisconsin bloody marys are actually caesars...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalan L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chapleau, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
The secret to any good Bloody Mary is to pour in enough dill sauce to cover the bottom of the empty tumbler, and then proceed with the other ingredients and directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScorpioGG
Home Town: Zeeland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
almost like a JEP's Bloody only missing the side of Beer, peppercini pepper, green pepper, pickle. long green onion and cherry pepper...plus the garlic salt and kitchen aid but close. Don't wish JEP's was still open!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janice Adler

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bloody Mary Cocktail

Say hello to the perfect brunch companion.

Wisconsin Bratwurst

These classic brats are boiled in beer and onions and finished on the grill.

Fuzzy Navel Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender mix up a peachy fuzzy navel cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States