True Maryland Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This is the best MARYLAND CRAB CAKE recipe that i have ever used. I've used it 3 times and everyone loves it. I made two changes. one I used Old Bay instead of parsley and I didn't use mayo (never have any) and it still came out great! Thanks Robert for this fantastic recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jai Blaze

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
I loved these! Great flavor, and they were wonderful the next day in sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tarboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
i was a bit leary of the pancake mix... but it was AWESOME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Very easy and delicious….I substituted walleye for the crab meat and sautéed onion, parsley, garlic and shredded carrot and added it to the flaked walleye, kept the other ingredients that the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeAnne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Pine Island, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
The sweetness in the pancake mix goes well with the crab. I added a little Old Bay instead of parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I substituted ranch dressing for the mayo and breaded and fried them, everyone loved them, said better than any ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Wow! This is an awesome and amazingly easy recipe! I served it on a bed of romaine with a chili mayo sauce drizzled over the cakes. Yum! Hint to all use Bisquik instead of pancake mix. The consistency was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Kensington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
It is a wonderful recipe, it's very quick and easy and they looked gorgeous when I put them on the table.... even my picky 3 year old wanted a taste!!!! I used canned crab meat because that's what I had on hand.... next time I will definitely use fresh and a little Old Bay seasoning. Perfect 10!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Old bay automatically makes this a five star recipe and if you are not from the Eastern Shore of MD where we good country folk live and breathe seafood, yes you would beleive that you broil a real MD Crabcake and not fry it...NOT SO! ALL of the BEST restaurants on the Eastern SHore fry them...Old Mill, Suicide's...can NOT wait to get back! And for the lady who said it was a crab pancake, use less pancake mix. There are MANY variations, you may want to try bread crumbs. I have even done them with Hawaiian rolls. No imitating a MD Crab cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I am a not so very good cook, or so my kids tell me, and despite the fact that I am almost sure i messed this up just a bit, they tasted fantastic! Super easy and really yummy! Thanks I did use old bay instead of parsley as well, and LOVED the fact that I could cook this with things I had on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States