True Maryland Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
The pancake batter (which BTW is not original to the "true" Maryland crabcake, masks the flavor of the crabmeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I was born and live in Baltimore Maryland and worked at three fine dining resteraunts growing up. A maryland crab cake is crab meat, mayonaise, eggs,bread crumbs, and spices, the BEST is the McCormick crab cake classic recipe its nots cheap but it allows the rich clean flavor of the crab meat to come through in the finish product if they sell the seasoning in your supermarket try it..p.s. A MARYLAND CRABCAKE IS BROILED NEVER FRIED OR PANFRIED
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Wow! This is an awesome and amazingly easy recipe! I served it on a bed of romaine with a chili mayo sauce drizzled over the cakes. Yum! Hint to all use Bisquik instead of pancake mix. The consistency was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Kensington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
i was a bit leary of the pancake mix... but it was AWESOME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
The sweetness in the pancake mix goes well with the crab. I added a little Old Bay instead of parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
This was not as good as I thought it would be. The pancake mix made it too doughy, but if you don't use as much as recipe calls for, it won't stay together while cooking in oil. It tastes more like a crab pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Old bay automatically makes this a five star recipe and if you are not from the Eastern Shore of MD where we good country folk live and breathe seafood, yes you would beleive that you broil a real MD Crabcake and not fry it...NOT SO! ALL of the BEST restaurants on the Eastern SHore fry them...Old Mill, Suicide's...can NOT wait to get back! And for the lady who said it was a crab pancake, use less pancake mix. There are MANY variations, you may want to try bread crumbs. I have even done them with Hawaiian rolls. No imitating a MD Crab cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I am a not so very good cook, or so my kids tell me, and despite the fact that I am almost sure i messed this up just a bit, they tasted fantastic! Super easy and really yummy! Thanks I did use old bay instead of parsley as well, and LOVED the fact that I could cook this with things I had on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
I loved these! Great flavor, and they were wonderful the next day in sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tarboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I substituted ranch dressing for the mayo and breaded and fried them, everyone loved them, said better than any ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States