True Maryland Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
The pancake batter (which BTW is not original to the "true" Maryland crabcake, masks the flavor of the crabmeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
This was not as good as I thought it would be. The pancake mix made it too doughy, but if you don't use as much as recipe calls for, it won't stay together while cooking in oil. It tastes more like a crab pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Wow! This is an awesome and amazingly easy recipe! I served it on a bed of romaine with a chili mayo sauce drizzled over the cakes. Yum! Hint to all use Bisquik instead of pancake mix. The consistency was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Kensington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
I loved these! Great flavor, and they were wonderful the next day in sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tarboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
i was a bit leary of the pancake mix... but it was AWESOME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
The sweetness in the pancake mix goes well with the crab. I added a little Old Bay instead of parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
It is a wonderful recipe, it's very quick and easy and they looked gorgeous when I put them on the table.... even my picky 3 year old wanted a taste!!!! I used canned crab meat because that's what I had on hand.... next time I will definitely use fresh and a little Old Bay seasoning. Perfect 10!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Very easy and delicious….I substituted walleye for the crab meat and sautéed onion, parsley, garlic and shredded carrot and added it to the flaked walleye, kept the other ingredients that the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeAnne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Pine Island, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I was born and live in Baltimore Maryland and worked at three fine dining resteraunts growing up. A maryland crab cake is crab meat, mayonaise, eggs,bread crumbs, and spices, the BEST is the McCormick crab cake classic recipe its nots cheap but it allows the rich clean flavor of the crab meat to come through in the finish product if they sell the seasoning in your supermarket try it..p.s. A MARYLAND CRABCAKE IS BROILED NEVER FRIED OR PANFRIED
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I thought these were pretty good. I added Old Bay Seasoning. Served as an appetizer for a wine party over mesculin salad with a vinagrette. was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hudson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States