True Manhattan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I bought some whiskey wanting something different, thinking I would enjoy sipping it straight. That was not the case! I was pleased to come across this recipe. Like other reviewers, I made mine with 2 parts whiskey, 1 part sweet vermouth and added juice from the cherries until the drink had a red tint...tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yolandap_83

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I use 2 oz rye whiskey (Whistle Pig), 3/4 oz sweet vermouth, cherry, bitters. Stir with ice. Rub orange peel on rim, pour into glass and squeeze the oil from a piece of orange peel. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Just make it as is. If you ant to do your own version, post your own recipe. FFS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Agree with those saying 2 to 1 and the little splash of cherry juice but still a fine drink
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Made this with Jack Daniels and the husband loved it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
My favorite drink of all times. If you don't care for the bite of say Makers Mark or other whiskeys, try Brandy Manhattan, much smoother without the bark or bite. My preference is a French Brandy called Raynal. It is 1 step below the grade of Cognac. Very relaxing. Take care they will sneak up on you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
This is a good mix, as others said, 2:1 is a bit better. But please make sure you use a high Rye content whiskey, as that is the final hint of flavor that makes this a fantastic drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pineypal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Oh my, this is my Dad's all time favorite drink and I'll never forget the first time he made me one. It was a bonding experience for us both. I agree with others that the Whiskey/Vermmouth ratio is definitely 2:1. I use Maker's Mark Whiskey and like my Dad taught me - spill some cherry juice in and garnish with a maraschino cherry. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I only rated it 4 stars because a 'perfect' manhatten calls for a 'dash' of dry vermouth along with the other ingredients. Bitters optional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Almost perfect. But I'm from Wisconsin and here it is Brandy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Omro, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Pear Manhattan Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender make a Manhattan with a pear vodka kick.

Make a Manhattan

See how to mix up a true American classic.

Manhattan Cocktail

See how to make a classic whiskey cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States