True Blue Custard Crunch Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
This pie was a huge hit at my friend's birthday party. I made it exactly as directed except I made half again as much of the topping, because more topping is always better :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lugoff, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I have to admit that I'm not a fan of pie, but made this from my father who loves blueberry pie. He was not a fan of having custard in his blueberry pie. I didn't like the consistency very much, so I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Tolland, Connecticut, USA
Photo by StickySue
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
This is one of my family favorites. I get request for this recipe. It a flavorful pallet pleasing pie! Thanks, Happy Cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StickySue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Didn't add the pecans to the crumb topping (had some left over from my apple pie recipe), but it's a keeper! Both kid love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coatesville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Picked over 11 pounds of blueberries last season and turned the majority of them into this pie. Stellar job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AEROJUNKI
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I had to use frozen blueberries, but the pie still turned out just fine. I used walnuts because I didn't have pecans. This is incredibly easy to make, and the "custard" holds the pie together when you slice it which is a big plus in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AEROJUNKI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enola, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Amounts seemed too much of vanilla & salt for a pie. I reduced to 1 1/2t & 1/8t. I combined the flour & sugar with the berries. The sour cream, egg & vanilla; then added it to the berry bowl. I used frozen berries & baked 40 minutes before adding the topping; then, 20 since 15 didn't do much. After 20, still no "crunch," but I'll get over it. Nut allergy so no nuts. Warm taste test: Yum. 'Thought it might be blueberry yogurtish, but it's more blueberry CHEESECAKEISH! Oh, my! :) Cinnamon isn't noticeable. It's enough to enhance flavor without your knowing what it is. 'May try with more since cinnamon's good for ya, but I wouldn't go for a cinnamony blueberry pie myself. If I make again with the topping, I'll go for 30 then 30; but, honestly, it's good enough to not have the extra sugar topping. If the berries are juicy, I don't know that it'd crisp anyway. No, not the prettiest pie, but make pie crust leaves or a regular top crust! PS "What cinnamon?" you ask? Sorry, my usual pie, I add half t. 'Don't remember if I added that or less. :? :( Christmas 2013: The topping isn't necessasary. It doesn't improve the flavor or look. It's an unattractive, but delicious pie. I'm thinking of renaming it "Pie with a good personality!" :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
the best pie I ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
This is a VERY nice blueberry pie! I wasn't so sure, but gave it a try and will definitely make this again. I did use less sugar in the filling, and only 2 T butter in the topping (and it was still too much, I think), so because adjustments were necessary I dropped it from 5 stars to 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I don't usually like blueberry pie....but this is the best..love the flavor, texture... Just can't stop eating it when I make it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States