True Bangers and Mash with Onion Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fowlerville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
My husband wanted a traditional Irish meal for St Patrick's day, and said this was the best version of Bangers and Mash he has had! Great flavor, and the sauce was awesome..a little on the thin side so I added some cornstarch to it to help thicken it up just a bit. Will definately be serving this on more than just St Patrick's day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I just made this tonight, and it was absolutely delicious! Next time, though, I'm going to halve the gravy. After giving my 4 servings a generous coating, I still had a good sized bowl of gravy left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I made this gravy last night to go with our bangers and mash and it was WONDERFUL!!! The only thing I would suggest is maybe doubling it as the more gravy the better. I didn't use quite as much onion as in suggested but I think that part is a personal preference. Thank you so much for this reciepe, it's definitely a keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I made this last night along with bean and bacon soup to honor my British heritage. Everyone loved it! I made two minor changes to the recipe though: -I thickened the gravy after reducing it by adding a cornstarch slurry with 1/2 cup each of cornstarch and water -I used julienned onions instead of diced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I'm afraid that the way I made this wasn't exactly traditional, but I had to use what I had and stick to my low-carb diet. I used whipped cauliflower instead of potatoes and butter-flavored pan spray for the mash, but did add the mustard. Also I used fresh chicken sausage instead of pork. Even with the changes this came out great. I can't wait to get skinny and make it the way it's written. I just returned from England and didn't meet a sausage I didn't like. Hence the return to the diet. This was an excellent recipe, thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
So I've made this twice and this is what I have liked so far. I just used the gravy recipe and put it on mashed potatoes! Excellent! I made my own beef broth, 3 boullion cubes in warm water. I also followed another reviewer and added a half cup of cold water mixed with corn starch (the more starch the thicker the gravy) I used about3 heaping tblsp. And for the wine I used one called "red" which left a very nice bold flavor. I let all that boil On high heat only stirring a COUPLE times . It took about 30 minutes for it to decease to half its volume. But EXCELLENT BROWN GRAVY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vennettes_mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Amazingly delicious! My family raved about this meal that is full of flavor from every angle. I used Johnsonville Brats and 3 lbs. red potatoes unpeeled. Although the gravy is thin it is very rich and soaks into the potatoes in a delightful way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Savory Susan
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Authentic, easy, fast...and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
WSF The best ever, we have had those Bangers twice now. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

French Onion Soup I

See how to make a simple, comforting onion soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States