True Bangers and Mash with Onion Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Absolutely fantastic!! Took a chance and made this recipe for my 'new' family after hearing a story about a trip to Europe they took 10 years ago. Now I have been requested to make it often. Even those who didn't care for Bangers, liked this dish. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koderz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This was the best ever! My hubbie who has tried this at every restaurant that makes it, said that this one tasted the most authentic! Never been to Ireland, one day I will go and pay tribute to my family. Till then I will honor them with traditional recipes! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Really nice gravy. I already had mashed potatoes, so didn't use that part of the recipe. It does, however, make a TON of gravy - I ended up freezing about half of it. I intend to use it on top of hamburger steaks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Boyle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
EXCELLENT! I only used one cup of wine, and thought that was plenty for us. I did thicken the gravy slightly, but that was my own preference. Next time, I will halve the gravy b/c I had a TON leftover. After the gravy was done, I just threw the cooked sausages in to soak in the delicious juices. As for the potatoes, I used all the ingredients, but didn't measure anything, just did it all to taste. I will absolutely be making this over and over...a hearty, delicious meal! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I made this for st pattys day dinner. It was delicious. I will definitly make again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Sauce was good. Made a lot though and took a while to reduce. Would use a pan next time. I personally did not like dry mustard in the potatoes. Would leave that out next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
If its Irish, its Irish and . . . it will they will . . . almost always be good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Photo by jlo
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Loved it! Soooo good and so easy to make. First time to ever eat an Irish Banger (bought mine at Trader Joe's). The broth was soooo flavorful. I baked french loaves to eat the sausages in & sauted cabbage to go along with this meal and cooked few slices of bacon til crispy to put atop the mash along with the onion gravy. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Awesome recipe and easy to make. I used bratwurst and added the 1/2 cup of cornstarch to thicken the gravy. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I have never had bangers and mash. While at Fresh Market I saw "banger sausage" . I forget what he said the ingredient was that made it a banger sausage The butcher gave me a link as a sample. I will pan fry the sausage and use some left over mashed potatoes and gravy for my first experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

French Onion Soup I

See how to make a simple, comforting onion soup.

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States