True Bangers and Mash with Onion Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Looking for something truly Irish for St, Patrick's Day,(corned beef and cabbage is great but American-Irish). Tried this and made points. served it w/ Brennen's Irish Soda Bread (recipe on this site) Will be making this often, will not wait for St.Patrick's Day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzyandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
This hit home with the Irishman in our household who seems to be genetically wired for ANYTHING Irish and can pinpoint a good Irish dish from a bad one. I made this for breakfast on St. Patrick's Day and was able to find Irish Bangers at Whole Foods at the last minute for the occasion. That's what I get for procrastinating. I think otherwise, you'll have to plan ahead and order online from a retailer on the East Coast if you want to use traditional Irish Bangers. I didn't skin the potatoes because they hold all the nutrition of a potato. The onion gravy was BOMB! I usually have to hide ANY vegetables from my husband, being strictly a steak and potatoes guy and all, but he willingly ate several extra bites past his point of "FULL" all the while oozing with great compliments regarding the onion gravy. I think next time, I might try to stew the bangers in some Guinness for a bit before moving them into the skillet and reserving the Guinness reduction for the onion gravy. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
The kids liked it, my husband and I did not - we were hoping for something more similar to that of the Italian pubs we had visited.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tracey Ferrari Posner
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
"Baby, this is excellent"...This is what my husband said to me as soon as he started eating this meal. I followed the directions as close to it as I could. I used a package of Lipton Onion Soup mix and some Swanson beef flavored Flavor Boost in place of the beef broth as I didn't have any. I also used a package of Johnsonville Smoked Sausage in place of the individual sausages. It was ridiculously delicious! I will, however go back and make this again the EXACT way it is written, but no complaints here! Thanks for the recipe! And THANK YOU to Johnsonville!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracey Ferrari Posner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Delicious! I saw a lot of comments where the recipe was given a lower rating because it was thin. This dish is supposed to have a thin gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
OMGosh - This was really good!!! I first used the smaller pork links, but added Bratwurst. The potatoes were less done - had to use only electric appliances because our propane line was being replaced, so had to microwave, & mixed them in my KitchenAid. They had some small chunks, but were very good like that. I wondered about the mustard powder, but followed the recipe & it was marvelous! Lots of onions,which I chopped fine. Seemed a lot, but was perfect, as the wine/beef broth sauce tasted savory. I didn't have enough beef broth, so I used half wine, half broth. I served this with a small loaf of Brennan's Irish Soda Bread from this site, which I cooked in my convection/toaster oven & it was all so good. One of my best meals. The family raved about it! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Rodziewicz England

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
We picked up some bangers from our farmers market and I couldn't wait to try this recipe! It was wonderful only the gravy still wasn't reduced after 20 minutes of boiling. We ate it like it was but I am sure it would have been a 5 stars if the gravy was right. So start the gravy first then work on everything else. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
We LOVE this recipe. Something about the gravy with the wine just makes the taste, I am trying to introduce new meals to my boyfriend and he was pleasantly surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
This was a great recipe with only really one complaint...I found the potatoes to be mediocre...I added some sour cream and cayenne pepper to give it a little more flavor. The gravy was on point. I took other users recommendation and thickened it up using a mixture of flour and oil and also added browning and seasoning sauce to darken it up. After those alterations, the gravy was just like what I have eaten in Ireland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Meriden, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Absolutely fantastic!! Took a chance and made this recipe for my 'new' family after hearing a story about a trip to Europe they took 10 years ago. Now I have been requested to make it often. Even those who didn't care for Bangers, liked this dish. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koderz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

French Onion Soup I

See how to make a simple, comforting onion soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States