True Bangers and Mash with Onion Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2015
Really delicious. Really liked the light mustard taste in the mashed potatoes. The gravy was excellent but I used much less liquid, only 2 cups of beef broth and 1/2 cup of red wine vinegar (didn't have red wine), I also added some corn starch as I prefer gravy to be thicker. It came out excellent. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2015
I am visiting friends in England, and decided to make this recipe for them. Well, nothing was left on the plates. The only thing I did extra, was to slightly thicken the onion gravy. I used a red Shiraz caber at and beef oxo for broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Made this for Father's Day lunch, so I had to serve 7. I used brats, so the cooking time was a little longer than stated. I ended up not increasing the gravy, and sliced the onions, rather than chop them. After the gravy was made, the brats were still not cooked through, so I added the gravy to the pan containing the brats and stuck it in the oven at 350 for 20 minutes, which finished cooking them and kept the gravy hot. Next time, I will cook the brats on a lower heat in the skillet and get them more cooked through, although the oven was effective and it let the brats soak up some of the juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2015
Really easy to make and a great basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
Loved it, but I've yet to meet the Irish guy that was satisfied with 1/2 cup of potatoes and one sausage, I think you need to double the sausage if you are going to feed 4 people. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
Easy to make. incredibly bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Greene

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ginjenni
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Excellent meal! I followed the directions fairly well, except I added just a little Wondra flour to the gravy. Great St Patty's day supper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
First time trying bangers and mash, and I am glad I came across this recipe. the wine is a great addition to a traditional beef broth based gravy. I also added some thinly sliced red pepper with the onions for a little added color. Make sure you do cook down the wine well so it does not overwhelm the flavors. I put the bangers back in the pan with the onions and juices to heat up. Served it hot with the mashed potatoes, with some cubed up Kerrygold cheese on the side. Since my family appreciates veggies, I made some roasted brussel sprouts for a side dish. Awesome recipe, great way to celebrate St. Patrick's Day week, even though I am Italian, we are all Irish on St. Patty's Day! Can't forget a nice cold beer with the meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
had to cut it down for just two but this is by far The best recipe I've tried so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
This is the best Bangers and Mash I have ever had and I have been to MANY pubs. My family eats until it hurts with this one. I add the mustard to the gravy and a Tsp of worchestershire. I have made this for the boys at my firehouse and Ill be making it during a week long Renn Faire by request. Cant say enough about this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

French Onion Soup I

See how to make a simple, comforting onion soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States