True Bangers and Mash with Onion Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
WSF The best ever, we have had those Bangers twice now. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I made this gravy last night to go with our bangers and mash and it was WONDERFUL!!! The only thing I would suggest is maybe doubling it as the more gravy the better. I didn't use quite as much onion as in suggested but I think that part is a personal preference. Thank you so much for this reciepe, it's definitely a keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I made this last night along with bean and bacon soup to honor my British heritage. Everyone loved it! I made two minor changes to the recipe though: -I thickened the gravy after reducing it by adding a cornstarch slurry with 1/2 cup each of cornstarch and water -I used julienned onions instead of diced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I just made this tonight, and it was absolutely delicious! Next time, though, I'm going to halve the gravy. After giving my 4 servings a generous coating, I still had a good sized bowl of gravy left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fowlerville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
My husband wanted a traditional Irish meal for St Patrick's day, and said this was the best version of Bangers and Mash he has had! Great flavor, and the sauce was awesome..a little on the thin side so I added some cornstarch to it to help thicken it up just a bit. Will definately be serving this on more than just St Patrick's day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I've never had Bangers and Mash, so when I ran across this recipe then I knew I had to try it! The red wine sauce is absolutely delicious, but as stated it is a thin gravy. I like mine thick and there was no problem to thicken it up. I used a bratwurst and although it was still good, next time I will try a different sausage. Maybe something like Kielbasa, as I think it would compliment the onion gravy nicely. Of course the choice of sausage is down to preference. No complaints about the mash. I love mashed potatoes and I've never tried adding mustard powder. It gave it a nice little kick! I don't really understand the reviews that say this recipe is time consuming. The most time consuming part is the mash, which takes about 20 minutes to make. I just left the gravy on to simmer while the potatoes were boiling. In under 30 minutes, I had a meal on the table. It doesn't seem like much time to me! I served it with fried cabbage, which rounded it out nicely. This is not a fancy meal, but I'm very happy that I tried it. This is one of those heart warming comfort foods which I will definitely make again and again! Thanks for the great recipe wsf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goldana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Used pendleton bratwurst, amazingly simple and bland, but that lets the mild flavors shine. not something we would eat every night, but a great change of pace and inexpensive meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Authentic, easy, fast...and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This was good but time consuming to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GSWOODY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Pittsboro, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

French Onion Soup I

See how to make a simple, comforting onion soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States