True Bangers and Mash with Onion Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Really nice gravy. I already had mashed potatoes, so didn't use that part of the recipe. It does, however, make a TON of gravy - I ended up freezing about half of it. I intend to use it on top of hamburger steaks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Boyle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
EXCELLENT! I only used one cup of wine, and thought that was plenty for us. I did thicken the gravy slightly, but that was my own preference. Next time, I will halve the gravy b/c I had a TON leftover. After the gravy was done, I just threw the cooked sausages in to soak in the delicious juices. As for the potatoes, I used all the ingredients, but didn't measure anything, just did it all to taste. I will absolutely be making this over and over...a hearty, delicious meal! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I made this for st pattys day dinner. It was delicious. I will definitly make again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Sauce was good. Made a lot though and took a while to reduce. Would use a pan next time. I personally did not like dry mustard in the potatoes. Would leave that out next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
If its Irish, its Irish and . . . it will they will . . . almost always be good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Photo by jlo
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Loved it! Soooo good and so easy to make. First time to ever eat an Irish Banger (bought mine at Trader Joe's). The broth was soooo flavorful. I baked french loaves to eat the sausages in & sauted cabbage to go along with this meal and cooked few slices of bacon til crispy to put atop the mash along with the onion gravy. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Awesome recipe and easy to make. I used bratwurst and added the 1/2 cup of cornstarch to thicken the gravy. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I have never had bangers and mash. While at Fresh Market I saw "banger sausage" . I forget what he said the ingredient was that made it a banger sausage The butcher gave me a link as a sample. I will pan fry the sausage and use some left over mashed potatoes and gravy for my first experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
So I've made this twice and this is what I have liked so far. I just used the gravy recipe and put it on mashed potatoes! Excellent! I made my own beef broth, 3 boullion cubes in warm water. I also followed another reviewer and added a half cup of cold water mixed with corn starch (the more starch the thicker the gravy) I used about3 heaping tblsp. And for the wine I used one called "red" which left a very nice bold flavor. I let all that boil On high heat only stirring a COUPLE times . It took about 30 minutes for it to decease to half its volume. But EXCELLENT BROWN GRAVY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vennettes_mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I'm afraid that the way I made this wasn't exactly traditional, but I had to use what I had and stick to my low-carb diet. I used whipped cauliflower instead of potatoes and butter-flavored pan spray for the mash, but did add the mustard. Also I used fresh chicken sausage instead of pork. Even with the changes this came out great. I can't wait to get skinny and make it the way it's written. I just returned from England and didn't meet a sausage I didn't like. Hence the return to the diet. This was an excellent recipe, thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

French Onion Soup I

See how to make a simple, comforting onion soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States