True Bangers and Mash with Onion Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
This was very good - did not add the mustard powder to the potatoes, but otherwise kept to the recipe. The gravy reminds me of french onion soup, without the cheese, of course, but its very tasty. I had real Irish sausage that I picked up at Costco, complete with the "rusk" that makes the sausage split open with a "bang" when its cooked. At my house, this recipe is much preferred to corned beef and cabbage for St. Patty's Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Ecellent, reminded me of the rollin hills of Ireland. Na, I've never been there but this sure was good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This was delicious! I made it as written for our homeschool co-op and it was devoured. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Authentic and delicious, the only one I make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Excellent! I did reduce the liquid to half though used about the same onions. Used bangers from dreamers which were delicious. Two per person. Recipe for two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
My family loves this! I've made it three times so far. As noted, the gravy is very thin, and just by preference I thicken it with flour and corn starch. There tends to be alot of gravy, so I freeze the leftover and use it next time, which makes it a super-fast meal! Perfect weekend meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcoralee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by just_jam
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
we so loved this.. super rich and satisfying.. put our own spin on it and added sliced mushrooms to the onion gravy and served this along with some long beans.. didn't really notice the mustard powder in the mashed potatoes.. but we kicked those up with some cayenne.. ty so much for this recipe.. bf is hard pressed to make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Not a bad recipe to use as a general reference. The red wine is kind of unnecessary (but works), and the mustard powder is purely a matter of taste; personally, I think bangers and mash should be a minimalist dish with simple, hearty flavors. But nonetheless, not a bad recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
My husband and I loved this dinner, I only wish I had steamed some cabbage to go with it. My very american and very picky daughters wouldn't eat it, but thats not the food, thats the kids. I also thickened the gravy, after the 10 minutes to cook it down I noticed it was as described and a bit too thin for my taste. I only added about 3T of flour to slightly thicken. Two cups of wine for the gravy, 4 cups of wine for the cook....Thats the way to do it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Wow, you really knocked it out of the park with this one! I liked the red wine in the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by biergarden
Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

French Onion Soup I

See how to make a simple, comforting onion soup.

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States