Truck-Stop Buttermilk Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I had to scale this recipe way down because I'm not feeding an army and I'm glad I did because I wouldn't have wanted to save the additional batter. These were rubbery, thin and tasteless. I'm not sure if I did something wrong or if this was because of the scaled down measurements?! Anyhow, I don't think I'll try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
These are excellent! The last pancake recipe I need!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I made as written and found this quite tasty. I added fresh stawberries on top and that made these even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleyenfrance

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Very, Very good I did add a teaspoon of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Absolutely delish! No more Ihop for pancakes here on forward for me! I can make it myself :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Akhaloo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I stopped buying pancake mix several years ago and started making them from scratch. As of today, I have officially changed my recipe. These are wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I don't particularly like pancakes... but now I do. I had them with sliced bananas and strawberries and syrup... yum yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Excellent. Getting to be a weekend tradition. Recipe is large enough for a truck-stop restaurant but I always cut it down by dividing by 5. Sometimes I use 1/2 wheat flour to make it healthier and add berries and ground pecans or almonds. Have to go make these again now. These are so good that you can even leave them plain and pick them up and just eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
We have searched for and made a LOT of pancakes claiming to be like Diner or Truck Stop pancakes, these are THE BEST! The only thing we changed was reducing the sugar (the syrup is sweet enough) and added a little vanilla then we use Crisco shortening on the griddle, that makes the color perfect and the flipping very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I don't know if it's fair to rate a recipe where I've made a major substitution, but the flavor of this pancake was so good. In fact, my quest for the perfect pancake recipe is over. I really never have buttermilk in my fridge, and a lot of the reviews that subbed milk and vinegar or milk and lemon juice said it didn't turn out, so, I used 2 cups nonfat plain yogurt. (I had to scale the recipe down to 5 servings as I was only feeding 3 people) This recipe was so good! I also added a splash of vanilla. I hope to try this with buttermilk next time, but it was so good with the yogurt, I'm not sure! Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliann

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 161-170 (of 724) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States