Trout with Almond-Herb Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
Absolutely delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2004
My husband said, this is the best fish I've ever had -- but I altered the recipe significantly. I used Progresso Italian Bread Crumbs with Lemon Pepper seasoning instead of crackers. I used an egg-and-milk drench before dredging in the bread crumbs.I used slivered almonds pounded into smaller pieces. I did not use any tyme. And, I pan fried the trout filets. We squeezed a littel fresh lemon on each filet. Even my often picky grandchildren ate the fish and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2003
It was OK - but seemed to be missing something. I'm not sure that thyme was the right herb for this. Or maybe it just needed something in addition to the thyme - just not sure what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2003
I thought this was just OK. It seemed a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2003
This tasted great! I also varied it a somewhat. I used dried thyme and breadcrumbs instead of saltines and put it on a george foreman grill and served it with lots of lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
I am always experimenting with fish recipies and my husband particularly liked this. Plus, you can really adapt it to any white fish fillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
Delicious BUT I made changes. I made one helping following the directions meticulously. Then I made my own variety. I liked mine much better. I baked it in the oven 400 degrees per inch of thickness. The milk is unecessary. I used seasoned crouton crumbs instead of saltines as the saltines are not flavorful enough to carry this recipe. I added more almonds and used a dash of dried thyme in addition to the real herbs. Scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2002
Excellent! Tasted just as good the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2002
This is a great recipe, my husband loved it, too. I also panfried the trout. I added a little spicy seasoning since we like a little zing in our foods. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2001
This is really a yummy recipe. Instead of grilling the fish, I cooked it on top of the stove frying it in a bit of olive oil, just a few minutes on each side. I used dried thyme and did not grind the almonds too fine. My daughter who normally only likes fish fried in a cornmeal batter really enjoyed the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States