Tropical Sweet Potato Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
NOTE FROM RECIPE MAKER: When submitted, my instructions said to "boil till fork tender". Allrecipes added to that sentence "about 20 minutes". Now that I have see two reviews stating the fries/wedges are too "mushy" I am thinking cooks are boiling for 20 minutes and not until fork tender. If you boil till fork tender, the "mushy" quality should hopefully not be an issue. Remember, recipes are a guideline to discovering what you like best. So learn, practice, experiment, and don't be afraid to mess. Happy Cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Fabulous flavor, though making sure they're only fork-tender is important! I used 1 tbsp table salt instead of kosher, and will decrease it to 2 tsp table salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
followed directions exactly - make sure you use sea salt it really puts it over the edge. Big hit at our picnic. Shame on the reviewer who gave 1 star for something the submitter can't control.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Can't wait to try these! You have no control over the nutrional info. How dare you be docked stars for that! Some people.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terriyaki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I made these twice. As directed the first time and didn't care for the texture. Second time I cubed the potato, tossed them in the oil and seasonings, and oven roasted them. We normally like just plain sweet potatoes but this seasoning blend is a really nice contrast. I did not use the cilantro the second time and we likes the flavor both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Yum! Only change I made was to microwave the potato wedges in a bowl with a tiny bit of water for a couple minutes instead of boiling them. Very good. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I did not have cilantro. Other then not adding this ingredient I followed the recipe as written. The sweet potato's were not boiled long enough (should have cooked longer) Baked for 20 min. as stated and they were still not fully cooked and started to have a burnt look, turned them several times!! The seasoning mixture has a unique flavor especially with the grated lime. Too much salt though! I might try this again and boil the potato's until fork tender and cut back on some of the ingredients. Will not give up! This recipe sounds good and I love sweet potato fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayakjoan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Tequesta, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Great....never made sweet potato fries before...my only change was to use smoked paprika instead of regular and I omitted the cilantro since I had none on hand. Delicious, spicy, smokey and sweet all at the same time....will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Wow, absolutley delicious! I mixed all of the spices except for the lime zest and cilantro in a big ziplock with the EVOO and tossed the potatoes in it before baking, then coated them with the zest and Cilantro after taking them out of the oven. I can't wait to try these in the summer time on the grill! Thanks for the recipe, this is going to be put into regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
The recipe reminds me - I put salt in my blender and grind it small. Makes for a nice coating with less salt. If you grind salt in a blender don't smell the fog of powder that hovers at the top of the blander - you don't want it in your lungs. Good on pop corn too if you buy your own kernels and pop them in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by InventorNC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States