Tropical Sweet Potato Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I have always made my Sweet Potato Fries this way but the seasonings you posted were an excellent change! I almost ate the batch all to myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarrotCakingMenace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
This is a great recipe! I left out the red pepper flakes because 2 of the 3 kids are wimps. Most would know to cook until fork tender when baking them again. Messy Cook hit a home run with this recipe. We dipped them in sour cream with a little garlic & Tabasco added. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tower Lakes, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Fabulous flavor, though making sure they're only fork-tender is important! I used 1 tbsp table salt instead of kosher, and will decrease it to 2 tsp table salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
These had a really good, unique flavor. The majority of my family really liked them, with the exception being the kids who just don't really care for sweet potatoes in general. If there were a 4 1/2 option I would pick it. My only complaint is that they were mushy as other reviews have stated and I didn't boil them ahead of time after reading them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Great....never made sweet potato fries before...my only change was to use smoked paprika instead of regular and I omitted the cilantro since I had none on hand. Delicious, spicy, smokey and sweet all at the same time....will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
The recipe reminds me - I put salt in my blender and grind it small. Makes for a nice coating with less salt. If you grind salt in a blender don't smell the fog of powder that hovers at the top of the blander - you don't want it in your lungs. Good on pop corn too if you buy your own kernels and pop them in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Walter VanWinckel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Delicious seasoning! the lime zest was so good. Cooking them took twice as long, however i have a gas stove so it generally takes a bit longer anyways. I chopped up the sweet potato (in the recipe it doesn't say how big the potatos to be used are) so that it would saturate more evenly, and next time i'm going to do it for less time and use smaller potatos. I dipped these in miso gravy and they were SO GOOD. i'm going to make them again tomorrow and use smaller potato's, and cut the fries smaller, and bake for longer. yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
NOTE FROM RECIPE MAKER: When submitted, my instructions said to "boil till fork tender". Allrecipes added to that sentence "about 20 minutes". Now that I have see two reviews stating the fries/wedges are too "mushy" I am thinking cooks are boiling for 20 minutes and not until fork tender. If you boil till fork tender, the "mushy" quality should hopefully not be an issue. Remember, recipes are a guideline to discovering what you like best. So learn, practice, experiment, and don't be afraid to mess. Happy Cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I'm afraid that we weren't crazy about these. I think that the boiling time was too long as they were kind of mushy after being baked. Also, the seasoning was too strong. Too much lime and salt taste. Sorry. We won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
These are very tasy but were a bit on the soggy side. Maybe cutting back on the boiling time or microwaving instead of boiling would help. They flavor was wonderful - they just weren't really "fries" to me. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States