Tropical Sweet Potato Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Excellent spice! I'm not sure about the boiling though. They came out a little mushy for me. I'll have to tweak it a little to avoid this next time. Otherwise, these are surprisingly tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mekaret27

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
excellent. I would use a little less sea salt next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Way too salty. I doubled the recepie and now I am thinking if I make it again I probably should not have doubled the salt. I also would not call it "tropical". It didn't taste tropical. The ingredients are not really tropical flavors, they are more spicy southwestern flavors: cilantro, chili pepper, paprika, etc. Also my potatoes were too soft too so carefully watch to make sure potatoes are not too soft when you remove them from stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Made this last night for a side dish for supper...It was awesome!! I've made sweet potato fries before, but this seasoning blend you add afterwards, made all the difference! My husband ate 3/4ths of the pan and he usually doesn't like it when I make sweet potatoes! Following the recipe makers review, I decided to not even boil them at all. I just sliced them into wedge/fry shapes, coated them with oil, salt & pepper and baked them on parchment paper. I decided to flip them all over after 25 minutes...I don't think it is a must-do task, I just wanted them to be more crunchy. I baked them for 5 more minutes and done! Oh, I didn't have cilantro so I didn't get to taste them with that, and I don't have a zester so I just squeezed fresh lime juice over them before I coated them with the seasoning blend at the end. Thanks for a delish recipe! We are gonna be having this quite a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge City, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Made this and it was a very yummy accompaniment to the homemade bean veggie burgers also on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
This is great. It's not greasy like sweet potato fries can be. The combination of the heat of the spices and the tartness of the zest is unusual and delicious. We thought the texture was good, too. The larger size of the cuts made it tender on the inside but a little crispy on the outside. I did bump up the oven temp to 425 for the last 5 minutes or so to brown them. Will make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I cut the raw potatos into fries, tossed with oil and spices and roasted for 25 min at 450 and served with a cinnamon yogurt sauce for dipping. Wow! One of the best recipes I've tried all year
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Perfect combination of spices. Kids loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I didn't see the note about boiling till only fork tender and they came out mushy. Next time I will skip the boiling entirely and just peel, cut into thin wedges and increase baking time. The 1 T salt seemed like a lot so I added only 1 t sea salt to the seasoning and they were still too salty after salting before baking as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
Did not care for this too much. It was my first time trying sweet potato fries and I was very disappointed. For some reason I didn't like the tropical flavor paired with the sweet potatoes. I will not be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grainfreegirl96

Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States