Tropical Salad with Pineapple Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Good salad! I used almonds instead of mac nuts, and to make it easier I just used real bacon bits instead of frying up bacon. I used fresh pineapple and I love the pineapple juice in the vinaigrette. I did think it was missing a little something though. Maybe some finely chopped garlic or onion in the dressing? Or dijon mustard? Just some ideas to try....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachxl
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I didn't have any romaine lettuce and had to use a mix of dandelion greens and arugula from a tiny local store! I also fried torn-up pieces of ham sandwich meat since I didn't have bacon. While I'm sure the original ingredients would be a better compliment to the vinaigrette, it is such a good salad that even mine was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachxl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Surprisingly, this is extremely delicious! I make it for potlucks all the time and everyone is always surprised at how incredibly yummy it is, since it seems like an odd combination and a little weird as a salad! It's a little harder to make than a garden salad but WELL worth the time!! Thanks! This is going in my permanent recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This salad was a hit at a Hawaiian themed shower I went to. I did not put the pineapple in the salad, the vinagrette was enough pineapple flavour for me. For presentation value I put edible flowers on the top. It was really beautiful and tasted great. Oh, I had no macadamia nuts so I put in some almonds. Though straying from the theme they worked fine. This is a tasty, simple salad where the dressing and lettuce (I did not use bagged lettuce for this, but locally grown romaine) are complimented opposed to being overpowered by too many ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by delish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Courtice, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I was excited about this when I saw the ingredients, but I wasn't over impressed with the results. Seems to be lacking something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNILEIGH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Delicious! Made this for a luau and loved the light, fresh flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyons, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
This was pretty good. I did make a few changes to speed up the preparation of the salad: canned pineapple and real bacon bits. Also, I increased the pineapple juice to 1/2 c. and I'm glad I did because I think the dressing would've been too oily otherwise. I used almonds and left out the green onions due to personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
A good blend of flavors, although it's missing something. I didn't figure out what it was... but this is definitely a side salad to a main course...would pair nicely with a fish or chicken dish. I'll keep looking...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Excellent! My family loved and devoured it. Because my older daughter is allergic to coconut, I omitted it, but it wasn't missed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fran Bullington
Living In: Inman, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
After reading all the reviews, I must say I was very disappointed. I gave it 3 stars because it was okay, but I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States