Tropical Salad with Pineapple Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Fantastic! Like other reviews, I added a minced clove of garlic, about 1 tsp grated fresh ginger. I also added a pinch of red pepper flakes. I didn't have quite enough pineapple juice, so I added orange juice to make up for what I was lacking. It was perfect. We had it with Jerk pork chops and coconut rice. Mmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom2hhh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I made this for a luau party I had and it was great! I doubled the recipe, but I think you could double the salad ingredients and not the dressing and be just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vernal, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rhianna
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Very good salad (4 stars) except for the dressing, which was far too oily with virtually no other flavor (0 stars). So to it I added 2 Tblsp more pineapple juice, 1 Tblsp pineapple juice concentrate, 1 Tblsp more cider vinegar (ran out of red wine vinegar), & a total of 1 tsp. salt & 1/4 tsp black pepper. Better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Perfect combo of sweet & salty with a nice cruncy. I always serve it with Hawaiian Grilled Chicken, either on the side or chopped ad added to the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Good salad! I used almonds instead of mac nuts, and to make it easier I just used real bacon bits instead of frying up bacon. I used fresh pineapple and I love the pineapple juice in the vinaigrette. I did think it was missing a little something though. Maybe some finely chopped garlic or onion in the dressing? Or dijon mustard? Just some ideas to try....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachxl
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I didn't have any romaine lettuce and had to use a mix of dandelion greens and arugula from a tiny local store! I also fried torn-up pieces of ham sandwich meat since I didn't have bacon. While I'm sure the original ingredients would be a better compliment to the vinaigrette, it is such a good salad that even mine was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachxl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Surprisingly, this is extremely delicious! I make it for potlucks all the time and everyone is always surprised at how incredibly yummy it is, since it seems like an odd combination and a little weird as a salad! It's a little harder to make than a garden salad but WELL worth the time!! Thanks! This is going in my permanent recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This salad was a hit at a Hawaiian themed shower I went to. I did not put the pineapple in the salad, the vinagrette was enough pineapple flavour for me. For presentation value I put edible flowers on the top. It was really beautiful and tasted great. Oh, I had no macadamia nuts so I put in some almonds. Though straying from the theme they worked fine. This is a tasty, simple salad where the dressing and lettuce (I did not use bagged lettuce for this, but locally grown romaine) are complimented opposed to being overpowered by too many ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by delish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Courtice, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I was excited about this when I saw the ingredients, but I wasn't over impressed with the results. Seems to be lacking something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNILEIGH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Delicious! Made this for a luau and loved the light, fresh flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyons, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States