Tropical Salad with Pineapple Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by taymay13
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Didn't add the bacon because I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by taymay13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
The toasted cocunut made it so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Bruchie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Fantastic! Like other reviews, I added a minced clove of garlic, about 1 tsp grated fresh ginger. I also added a pinch of red pepper flakes. I didn't have quite enough pineapple juice, so I added orange juice to make up for what I was lacking. It was perfect. We had it with Jerk pork chops and coconut rice. Mmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom2hhh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I made this for a luau party I had and it was great! I doubled the recipe, but I think you could double the salad ingredients and not the dressing and be just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vernal, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rhianna
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Very good salad (4 stars) except for the dressing, which was far too oily with virtually no other flavor (0 stars). So to it I added 2 Tblsp more pineapple juice, 1 Tblsp pineapple juice concentrate, 1 Tblsp more cider vinegar (ran out of red wine vinegar), & a total of 1 tsp. salt & 1/4 tsp black pepper. Better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Perfect combo of sweet & salty with a nice cruncy. I always serve it with Hawaiian Grilled Chicken, either on the side or chopped ad added to the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Good salad! I used almonds instead of mac nuts, and to make it easier I just used real bacon bits instead of frying up bacon. I used fresh pineapple and I love the pineapple juice in the vinaigrette. I did think it was missing a little something though. Maybe some finely chopped garlic or onion in the dressing? Or dijon mustard? Just some ideas to try....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachxl
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I didn't have any romaine lettuce and had to use a mix of dandelion greens and arugula from a tiny local store! I also fried torn-up pieces of ham sandwich meat since I didn't have bacon. While I'm sure the original ingredients would be a better compliment to the vinaigrette, it is such a good salad that even mine was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachxl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Surprisingly, this is extremely delicious! I make it for potlucks all the time and everyone is always surprised at how incredibly yummy it is, since it seems like an odd combination and a little weird as a salad! It's a little harder to make than a garden salad but WELL worth the time!! Thanks! This is going in my permanent recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This salad was a hit at a Hawaiian themed shower I went to. I did not put the pineapple in the salad, the vinagrette was enough pineapple flavour for me. For presentation value I put edible flowers on the top. It was really beautiful and tasted great. Oh, I had no macadamia nuts so I put in some almonds. Though straying from the theme they worked fine. This is a tasty, simple salad where the dressing and lettuce (I did not use bagged lettuce for this, but locally grown romaine) are complimented opposed to being overpowered by too many ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by delish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Courtice, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States