Tropical Salad with Pineapple Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Delicious surprise! had two pineapples to use up, so tried this. Used slivered almonds instead of macadamias and toasted them along with coconut. Forgot to put the bacon in...think we liked it better without! it was fresh and woke up the taste buds! delicious and will be baking it again....tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Canadiancook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
omg this was amazing. ty! best way to use up fresh pineapple :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiGGoNZo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Okay, I'm no phenomenal cook as I will quickly wrote how I screed up the recipe. Lol I was unable to find flaked coconut or macadamia nuts. I accidentally put in a have a cup of pineapple jibe so I kind of doubled the red wine vinegar. My family lives the salad dressing. Just they way I planned it. Lol. Well use this recipe again, my version but I'll let my wife make. Loll
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I used coconut balsamic vinegar, added grape tomatoes, cucumber and snap peas....AMAZING! It was a hit with my family one we will do often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justannie187
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Took it to a friend's house for a bbq, and it was very well received. I would definitely make it again. I didn't have macadamia nuts, so I substituted sugared pecans. Also added dried cranberries for some color. Red bell pepper would probably have worked as well, but we liked the craisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
These flavours really went well together, and it's worth it to toast the coconut. I froze the leftover coconut in a ziploc and sprinkled it on foods as I needed it throughout the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
This is ONE of the best salads I have ever had. I'm not a salad person and I went back for seconds yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Such a refreshing salad! Made as is (well, it was for a weeknight, so we used canned pineapple even though fresh must undoubtedly be better - and, even though my husband loves bacon, since I can't have any, he nixed having bacon even for his!!!!!...., and, surprisingly enough he loved this anyway, so much so that he doesn't even want to try adding the bacon in later???? that's really saying something, coming from him - usually he feels deprived if bacon is on the menu and he doesn't get 'his share'..... (silly boy!)... ME? I want to sub in turkey ham next time, cuz I love the sweet and salty flavors suggested in the recipe - hubby was looking at the Christmas bills coming up and he just didn't want to open the package tonight...? *sigh*). Anyway, with those two small changes, the salad was very refreshing indeed. I must say that I do want to try some of the suggestions made by other reviewers, such as adding in garlic, ginger, red pepper, and much more toasted coconut. Also want to try the dressing with the rice vinegar as a couple of reviewers suggested. The red wine vinegar is awfully pretty if you want to serve the salad elements all separate as we did. Served this alongside Key West Chicken from this site, all with some grilled pineapple, onions, & green peppers (grilled via a grill wok), as well as a good bit more toasted coconut. Yum! Plan to serve this monthly in that combination. Thanks, Marianne G! I think this will make great memories for our children!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I made a double batch of this for a party. While it was tasty, it was very soggy - perhaps because of all the juice from the pineapple? I would probably cut the dressing down by half next time. The combo of pineapple and bacon was yummy. The cost to put this together was a bit pricey though. Macadamia nuts at $13/lb., whole pineapple $4, bacon $4, etc. Something to keep in mind! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PTownGal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
We liked this a lot. We served it with grilled chicken sliced in so it was a whole meal. Very satisfying, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States