Tropical Salad with Pineapple Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Such a refreshing salad! Made as is (well, it was for a weeknight, so we used canned pineapple even though fresh must undoubtedly be better - and, even though my husband loves bacon, since I can't have any, he nixed having bacon even for his!!!!!...., and, surprisingly enough he loved this anyway, so much so that he doesn't even want to try adding the bacon in later???? that's really saying something, coming from him - usually he feels deprived if bacon is on the menu and he doesn't get 'his share'..... (silly boy!)... ME? I want to sub in turkey ham next time, cuz I love the sweet and salty flavors suggested in the recipe - hubby was looking at the Christmas bills coming up and he just didn't want to open the package tonight...? *sigh*). Anyway, with those two small changes, the salad was very refreshing indeed. I must say that I do want to try some of the suggestions made by other reviewers, such as adding in garlic, ginger, red pepper, and much more toasted coconut. Also want to try the dressing with the rice vinegar as a couple of reviewers suggested. The red wine vinegar is awfully pretty if you want to serve the salad elements all separate as we did. Served this alongside Key West Chicken from this site, all with some grilled pineapple, onions, & green peppers (grilled via a grill wok), as well as a good bit more toasted coconut. Yum! Plan to serve this monthly in that combination. Thanks, Marianne G! I think this will make great memories for our children!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I made a double batch of this for a party. While it was tasty, it was very soggy - perhaps because of all the juice from the pineapple? I would probably cut the dressing down by half next time. The combo of pineapple and bacon was yummy. The cost to put this together was a bit pricey though. Macadamia nuts at $13/lb., whole pineapple $4, bacon $4, etc. Something to keep in mind! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PTownGal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
We liked this a lot. We served it with grilled chicken sliced in so it was a whole meal. Very satisfying, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Yum, Yum, Yum!! I double the recipe and my husband just about ate it all!! I had an extra mango and avocado I needed to use up, and it worked pretty well with everything. I used a fresh pineapple, so the extra pieces went into the food processer for the “juice” part of the dressing. I also added some ginger root and garlic like some others suggested, but there is NO need for sugar!! The fruit is sweet enough, anything more might make it too sweet. I will be making this again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Super yummy salad. I added the suggested garlic, sugar, and ginger to the dressing, but still used the red wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Missing something in the dressing. The salad is very bland for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsPestana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Honestly, I didn't expect much out of this recipe (I mean, it's just a salad, right?), but I was soooo wrong! This is great! I didn't have any macadamia nuts, so I just added all of the other things. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by :)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Excellent! I did adjust the dressing. I added chopped garlic, soy sauce and ground ginger. I also felt it was too tart and added a couple of tbls of sugar and just a touch more pineapple juice. Additionally I grilled the pineapple and added grilled chicken that had been marinated in a soy marinaded. Was a huge hit and would be a great main dish salad. Especially in the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Very good, but I did change the recipe quite a bit. I reduced the oil to 2 teaspoons, and the vinegar to 2 tablespoons, and added 2 tablespoons of coconut milk, and increased the pineapple juice to 1/2 cup. It was less tangy, and more creamy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I thought this was pretty good. I thought the vinaigrette had too strong of a vinegar taste, I tried to compensate by adding more pineapple juice, but it didn't work for me. As expected, it's not very good for leftovers the next day. It was a nice side to serve with Ham & Swiss Stromboli. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Marianne G!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States