Tropical Salad with Pineapple Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
I loved this recipe (with some additions from the comments) - I reduced the oil, increased the juice, used rice wine vinegar, added the garlic and ginger and some sugar for the dressing - ABSOLUTELY necessary additions or else you're basically just pouring juice on your salad. - I also included red peppers in the salad and it was a HUGE hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2004
I just served this to a party of 100 for a Hawaiian Luau. Lots of people asked for the recipe and said this was delicious. I made some changes to the vinaigrette. I used Rice Wine Vinegar instead of Red Wine Vinegar and added fresh ginger and garlic to the dressing to add depth to the taste. Also added a little sugar to balance the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2001
I made this recipe for my gourmet group in which I was doing a Luau theme. Everyone loved it. I made several changes, though. I increased the pineapple juice to 1/2 cup and used extra (fresh only!!!) cutup pineapple on each individual plate. For presentation, I also used some star fruit on each plate (looks pretty and adds more color). Also, I decreased the onion to 2, and upped the coconut to 1/2 cup. I really wanted to bring out the tropical flavors of this recipe. I would definitely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2003
Great salad! Such a delicious combination. I used ready-made real bacon bits and they worked fine. Upped the amount of pineapple juice because I wanted more of that flavor. Also used canned pineapple tidbits. By using the canned pineapple and precooked bacon, I saved a ton of time. Also, used macadamia nuts (they were salted so I rinsed them off because toasting. My daughter liked it as well even though she doesn't like coconut. I have made tons of salads using various fruits but never have dabbled with pineapple in this kind of combination. This is my new favorite and I am going to say the best salad I have ever had in my life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2003
What a great salad! We loved it, even kids, and will make again. I omitted the bacon (didn't have any), increased the pineapple juice to 1/2 cup as suggested, and had to use the sugar-coated almonds rather than the macadamias. The toasted coconut is so good on this salad! Thanks, Marianne! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
LOVED this salad! All the flavors came together and made for a very elegant, yet tropical salad. Once the dressing goes on, you have to eat it - the leftovers became soggy overnight. Eat what you make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
At first I wasn't sure if anyone would like this different salad. However, it was a hit at a luau I attended. It's even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2002
This was a really tastey, light, and easy salad to make. I'm always looking for more salad recipes that encorporate fruit and greens. Everyone liked it. I had some butter lettuce, and baby spinach on hand, so I mixed that in with the romaine lettuce, and it made for a nice salad mix. Makes a bit too much dressing for the size of the salad, but there was absolutely nothing wrong with the taste! It will be something I make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2004
This is a great salad.I did'nt change a thing. Even my 3 year old nephew ate 3 servings of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
I added sugar to make it sweet and added raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENN_77

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Chef John's Salad Lyonnaise

This meal-worthy salad features bacon and poached egg with a simple vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States