Tropical Salad with Pineapple Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
I loved this recipe (with some additions from the comments) - I reduced the oil, increased the juice, used rice wine vinegar, added the garlic and ginger and some sugar for the dressing - ABSOLUTELY necessary additions or else you're basically just pouring juice on your salad. - I also included red peppers in the salad and it was a HUGE hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I wasn't too crazy about the recipe for the dressing. I ended up adding a bit of sugar,lots more pineapple juice, and half the oil. The salad with the pineapple and bacon and coconut was delicious, so altogether it was okay. I would probably try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
Light & absolutely delicious! The only changes I made was to prepare salad for 50 people & only made enough dressing for 30. Just perfect amount of dressing! Compliments galore! Definately a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Redmond, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
I like pineapple, and I had high hopes for this salad. The thing that I think was the weak link was the dressing. It had very little flavor, I had to try and kick up the flavor without any luck, the foundation of the dressing wasn't great. It was to oily, and the pineapple juice really wasn't the best option for flavoring a dressing. I think I would do a sweet poppyseed dressing, and use all the other additions if I did this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
YUM! This was delicious. Just the right salad for my summer dinner party. Everyone loved it. I tossed the salad and served it on my salad plates with the macadamias and toasted coconut as a garnish. That way, it didn't get too soupy, as other reviewers had mentioned. It was a beautiful presentation, and, many compliments later, this is staying in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
really good, but we omitted the coconut
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
This salad was great! I made it for a luau party I hosted. It was delicious and very colorful. I added mandarin oranges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
I made this for my work and everyone loved it. I emulsified the dressing the day before and refrigerated it overnight. I used the Organic Spring Greens from Costco (16 oz). I would definitely make this again. I think it would taste great with grilled chicken or salmon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
My husband liked this but I didn't care for it. Not enough flavor or any zing to make your tastebuds stand up. I won't fix this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
Made this for my wedding dinner,it was a total hit. I did emulsify the oil in the dressing so it would not separate. I toasted the macadamias and the coconut on foil and used precooked bacon strips that I used my handy chopper on. I also used bagged spring mix and cut up pineapple from the deli so it was superfast to prepare and clean up and looked so good!! Even my father and husband loved it. I wish I had made more, because they scrapped the bowl clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIDNIGHTMUSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lingle, Wyoming, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States