Tropical Pineapple Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I didn't have crushed pineapple and used slice pineapples instead and they still tasted great! with the left over chicken and juice from baking I made a delicious sandwich with the slice of pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Daly City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I enjoyed this. I first marinated the chicken in teriyaki sauce. Then when I made the pineapple sauce, I used only 1/4 cup Splenda. I don't think the chicken needs to cook for 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by Kristen Kelley
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
We really enjoyed this. It was easy to prepare and I made a couple small additions to please my family's tastes. First, I marinated in light pineapple juice with a squeeze of lime juice, along with a couple shakes of garlic allspice and green onion spice blend. I baked the chicken over some red onion slices and topped 2 out of the 3 breasts that I made with some jalapeno slices. I dumped all the marinade so the bottom of the pan stayed moist and brushed the chicken with the mixture detailed here, with the addition of a splash of soy sauce and using splenda brown sugar rather than the granulated. I heated the mixture up just to thicken it a bit before cooling slightly and brushing the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Great as the chicken, but I tried it a second time using Tilapia filets (about 20 mins. in the oven). Unbelievable! I liked it even better, the fish is very mild and the pineapple sweet/tang is complementary to the flaky, soft goodness of the fish which absorbs the liquids. I also oiled the pan using coconut oil so that added an extra tasty undertone. Next time I also plan on tossing a few toasted macadamias on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Juan Capistrano, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Cooked in a pan instead of baking in the oven. Added 2tbsp minced garlic, 1/3 cup light soy sauce, reduced the splenda to 1/4 cup & served over jasmine rice. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I made some changes like others did. I added 3 Tablespoons Honey, 3 oz package Melissa's Dried Lemon Peels, 1 Tablespoon Garlic Powder, 1/2 Tablespoon Onion Powder, 3/4 cup Low-Sodium Soy Sauce to the chicken breasts. YUMMY! It went well with rice and a vegetable for a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
I altered this recipe a little and it was amazing! 3 chicken breasts, can of pineapple chunks w/ juice, 3/4 cup soy sauce, garlic powder, black pepper, seasoning salt, and brown sugar to your liking, and 3/4 cup lemon juice.put in lightly buttered glass dish, bake at 350 for about 45-50 min or until done.I put everything in the pan and on top of the chicken, including chunks of pineapple.enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I don't do artificial sweetner so I suppose I should have gone looking for the recipe that the author said inspired this one. But I didnt, I wanted pineapple chicken and this looked like a good base, However then I read the comments. Inspired by Reviewed on Feb. 10, 2010 by Jen, I added some slices of root ginger and onion to base of dish before adding chicken on top and I added some soy sauce, red chilli (diced small) and powdered ginger, large dash of rice wine vinegar, and soft brown sugar to the pineapple. I omitted the lemon juice (as rice wine vinegar added the sour note and I ommited the mustard as I never have luck with mustard and chicken baked dishes for soem reason and there was enough heat from other ingrediants in there. We loved it!!!! Served with stir fry veg (ginger & soy) and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wellington , Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Actually was going to make something else and had chicken marinating in teriyaki sauce for about an hour, then changed my mind, rinsed the chicken, and followed directions. I served it with white rice drizzled with the same teriyaki sauce and it was SO GOOD!! My boyfriend and I loved it. Not sure if the teriyaki marinade had anything to do with how it turned out but will definitely make this again, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
This was an interesting meal but very GOOD! I would definitly try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Chicken Tenders

See how to make juicy, tender grilled chicken skewers.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States