Tropical Paradise Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
The pancakes are nice and a good change from your typical pancakes, but I did feel that changes are needed. The OJ taste overpowers the other flavors, so I would dilute the OJ (1/2 OJ and 1/2 water as another reviewer suggested). Also, I didn't get much coconut flavor and I added the full 1/4 cup as called for--maybe I'll try using sweetened coconut flakes or coconut extract next time as I was really hoping to get nice coconut flavor. As written, three stars is appropriate but the above changes would certainly put these pancakes into my family's rotation of weekend treats. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I made these for my kids, who are pancake fanatics, and they were a total bust. They hated the orange juice and they all said they tasted too much banana. I'm sorry. I really wanted to like this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miriam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
These were pretty good. We all agreed that the OJ taste was a little overwhelming. Next time I might try to do half OJ half water or something like that to cut down on the bitter/acidic OJ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by :)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I used my own homemade whole wheat pancake mix which meant I had to add a little more orange juice (quarter cup) to compensate for the extra liquid-sucking power that is whole wheat flour. To prevent overmixing, I folded the banana, pecans and coconut into the dry mix and wisked together the wet ingredients in a seperate bowl and just gently combined the dry into the wet. We thought this pancake recipe was GREAT--we loved it. NO leftovers. Great way to use random overripe bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
These were a nice change!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I made a gluten free pancake mix, and used sunflower seeds instead of pecans. We loved these moist, tropical flavored pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I mashed the banana - chopped the pecan really fine - the family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This is a great recipe. I didn't have orange juice so used the juice from the pineapple, added enough water to make the amount of liquid required and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
It's a fun recipe and the batter was nice and light. I used fresh pineapple but my pieces were a bit too large, I'll have to be careful next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Huron, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

How to Make Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make classic diner-style pancakes.

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States