Tropical Lime Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2001
Delicious and moist! Just as good the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Because it began with a cake mix and because of some of the reviews, I set out to make this with low hopes and poor expectations, all of them dashed. I was prepared for the cake to be ugly – it isn’t. It has a pretty, golden exterior and the cake itself a delicate and pretty pastel green. Too sweet and too limey, some reviews said – nope, it’s just right. In fact, in hindsight I would have added some grated lime zest, maybe a tablespoon. Tastes awful, SO like a cake mix. Wrong again. While I don’t necessarily think it would fool anybody, it nevertheless does not have that obvious commercial cake mix taste, tho’ I’m convinced this is because I started out with a French Vanilla cake mix – better, as far as I’m concerned, than lemon, yellow or white cake mixes. I thought maybe a cup of oil would make this heavy and greasy but it was not. Again, I used a Duncan Hines French Vanilla cake mix (deliberately, as with all this oil I did NOT want a pudding-included cake mix). I used fresh-squeezed orange juice, which really was why I chose this recipe in the first place as I had a number of oranges to use. I baked it in a Bundt pan, 325 degrees for about 55-60 minutes. Fearful of infusing any more moisture or sweetness into the cake, I did not use the recipe’s glaze. I used a simple powdered sugar and fresh lime juice glaze. I’m pleasantly surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
I have been searching for a recipe close to my mothers lime cake for over 15 years. This is the closest I have had! I just baked it, and havent even poured the frosting on it yet. I just leveled the layers and got to nibble on some of the extra..WOW! its delish! I did not purchase the lemon cake mix, I used yellow instead. All I had here in my pantry. And it still came out wonderful, I just added 1/2 tsp of lemon extract, when I still felt that diddnt give it enough tang I gave it 1/2 tsp of lime juice. I am going to frost it with a cream cheese frosting with a few tbls of lime thrown in. I will make this over and over. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!Edit:8/27/08- I have made this cake over and over. I have made it in a bundt pan with a lime glaze and powdered sugar over it. I have also made it into a 1/4 sheet cake by doubling the recipe, and using a cream cheese lime frosting. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEESA2YOU

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
This recipe is awesome! I have used it to make lemon, orange, pineapple, cherry, cranberry, raspberry and strawberry. I think you are only limited by the flavors of Jello.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2001
Absolutely scrumptious! Very moist and wonderful tasting. What a beautiful green color too. I made this cake for work and it was gone in no time. I love the very simple lime glaze which gives just the right finish. I did not poke the holes in the cake. Instead, I let the cake cool and then poured the glaze over top. Finally, I garnished with lime twists on top for a nice presentation. I will make this recipe over and over again! mmmm! mmmm! p.s. It's great FROZEN too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
I also tried this recipe as a strawberry lemonade version by adding strawberry jello instead of lime, and lemonade instead of orange juice, and it was a hit. I baked it in a bundt pan and topped the cooled cake with coolwhip and garnished with sliced strawberries and lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Double-Oven Lovin'

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2004
I made this as a bundt cake and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
Made this for my husband to take to work. It was devoured way before lunch and everybody wanted the recipe. I can't eat it because I'm on the low carb diet, but from all reports, this will be a permanent addition to my dessert file. My husband usually prefers pies over cakes, but he said to make this as often as I can. I fixed a frosting for it with only 1 tub of cool-whip and a small box of lime jello mixed together and spread over the cooled cake. WONDERFUL!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
This cake rocks! I baked it in a bundt pan. The only thing I changed was instead of the lime juice, I used a 6 ounce can of thawed frozen limeade concentrate & mixed that with the 2 c. powdered sugar before pouring over the cake. I also added a very tiny bit of blue paste food coloring to the orange juice mixture in the blender which made it a festive green color. My family loves this cake & it's great in the summertime or when you don't want a heavy dessert as it doesn't require any frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
this cake was pretty good. im not sure if it was something that i did or what, but as soon as i took it out of the oven the center caved in. and i didnt put the lime glaze on, instead i frosted it with cream cheese icing. and im glad i did, because trust me...it is sweet enough with out it. i made it for st.patricks day at work, so it worked well for that occasion. Everyone said that it was good, but it didnt get the rave reviews that my cakes in the past have recieved. i dont think i will make it again unless requested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States