Tropical Lime Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2001
Delicious and moist! Just as good the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2001
Absolutely scrumptious! Very moist and wonderful tasting. What a beautiful green color too. I made this cake for work and it was gone in no time. I love the very simple lime glaze which gives just the right finish. I did not poke the holes in the cake. Instead, I let the cake cool and then poured the glaze over top. Finally, I garnished with lime twists on top for a nice presentation. I will make this recipe over and over again! mmmm! mmmm! p.s. It's great FROZEN too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2002
This recipe is definitely different! The color is fabulous, and the flavor is highly unique. I like poking only a few holes in the cake and leaving most of the glaze on top of the cake. Great recipe when you are looking to make a statement!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2002
I goofed when it came to the glaze and ended up putting the half cup of lime juice in the batter.It still came out ok needed a little longer cooking time and was very moist and I used half a cup of orange juice instead for the glaze. Wow ,it sure is a delicious cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2002
Refreshingly unique! My family truly enjoyed the lime flavor & fun color of this cake. This recipe would be especially great during the summer. I'll be making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2002
I have made this recipe dozens of times, it is great! You can even substitute the lemon cake mix and the lime jello for different flavors and create all kinds of great flavored cakes. Thanks again for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
YUM! I have made this several times. I have also made different versions of this, a strawberry lemonade cake. Wonderful in hot weather. Mignonne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
VERY, VERY GOOD. I made this for New Years Day. It was a nice change after all the other heavy deserts for the holidays. I had used a recipe like this before but lost it. I used lemon juice instead of lime juice for the glaze. My husband and son really liked this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
This is Awesome. I cooked it 43 minutes and it was okay but could have been cooked less time - so just keep an eye on it! Also, I topped w/ cool whip mixed w/ a little lime juice and it was delicious! Thank you :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
I'm not a big fan of lime anything. I didn't really like the lime flavor. However, the cake is very moist and I will try it again with other flavors. I made the glaze a little thicker after I poured some of it on the cake. This stayed on top for a little frosting and my kids ate it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States